Vinny Magalhaes (Esther Lin/MMA Fighting)

Titan FC 30 Results: Magalhaes Submits Brilz to Earn Title

On Friday, Sept. 26, Titan FC hosted its 30th event from the Cedar Park Center in Cedar Park, Texas

In the night’s main event, a pair of UFC veterans squared off as light heavyweights Vinny Magalhaes and Jason Brilz battled for the promotion’s inaugural 205-pound belt. Magalhaes saw his UFC run end last fall, but rebounded with the ninth submission win of his career in July. The 30-year-old made his promotional debut. Brilz, meanwhile, rode a four-fight winning streak into the title affair. The 39-year-old edged Raphael Davis at Titan FC 28 earlier this year.

The co-main event of the event featured bantamweights Anthony Gutierrez and Walel Watson. The 23-year-old Gutierrez put his unfortunate experience on The Ultimate Fighter in the rearview mirror in February with a 59-second submission of Charlie DuBray. Watson had gone 3-2 since his UFC release, most recently scoring a third-round finish of William Joplin at Titan FC 28 in May.


The 11-fight event kicked off with two un-aired preliminary card bouts at 6:30 p.m. ET. Four additional prelims streamed live on at 8 p.m. ET, with the five-fight main card airing live on the CBS Sports Network at 10 p.m. ET.

Vinny Magalhaes def. Jason Brilz by submission (guillotine choke). Round 4, 0:36 – for inaugural light heavyweight title
Walel Watson def. Anthony Gutierrez by submission (triangle choke). Round 1, 3:02
Gleristone Santos def. Robert Washington by split decision. (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Leville Simpson def. Richie Martinez by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 2:56
Pedro Nobre def. Nick Honstein by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Emanuel Brooks def. Todd Moore by unanimous decision. (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Cody Williams def. Xavier Siller by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 3:54
Adam Nijem def. Gabriel Carrillo by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 0:33
Matt Mazurek def. Charles Adkinson by TKO (punches). Round 2, 0:09
Kevin Troyer def. Eric Hendon by submission (triangle choke). Round 1, 3:49
Julian Shore def. Phillip Platt by submission (armbar). Round 1, 1:38