Sean O'Connell (L) (PFL)

PFL 2018 Championship Results: Magomedkerimov, O’Connell Among Million-Dollar Winners

On Monday, Dec. 31, the Professional Fighters League closed out its 2018 tournament season from the Hulu Theater at Madison Square Garden in New York City.

The season produced multiple stars. Ray Cooper III dismantled Jake Shields in both the regular and postseason. Josh Copeland worked his way through a set of fellow UFC veterans to land in the heavyweight finals opposite Philipe Lins, who has been a wrecking ball at his new weight class. Unlikely runs by light heavyweight Sean O’Connell and featherweight Steven Siler put both men in the finals of their respective weight classes.

Cooper fought for welterweight superiority against Magomed Magomedkerimov. Copeland and Lins collided in the heavyweight final. O’Connell continued his surprising run against fellow light heavyweight Vinny Magalhães. In the lightweight division, Natan Schulte battled Rashid Magomedov. Siler sought the championship in the featherweight division, where he met Lance Palmer. Louis Taylor and Abusupiyan Magomedov scrapped for middleweight dominance. Meanwhile, in the only non-tourney bout, PFL women’s lightweight star Kayla Harrison continued her MMA career with a bout against Moriel Charneski.


The event aired live on NBC Sports at 7 p.m. ET.

Magomed Magomedkerimov def. Ray Cooper III by submission (guillotine choke). Round 2, 2:18 – welterweight final
Philipe Lins def. Josh Copeland by TKO (strikes). Round 4, 0:30 – heavyweight final
Sean O’Connell def. Vinny Magalhães by TKO (corner stoppage). Round 3, 5:00 – light heavyweight final
Kayla Harrison def. Moriel Charneski by TKO (punches). Round 1, 3:39
Natan Schulte def. Rashid Magomedov by unanimous decision (48-46 x3) – lightweight final
Lance Palmer def. Steven Siler by unanimous decision (50-43, 50-45, 49-46) – featherweight final
Louis Taylor def. Abusupiyan Magomedov by knockout (left hook). Round 1, 0:33 – middleweight final