Mamoru Yamaguchi (Taro Irei/Sherdog)

Pancrase 289 Results: Ikeda Gets Revenge, Wins Flyweight King of Pancrase Title

On Sunday, Aug. 20, Pancrase returned to Differ Ariake in Tokyo, Japan for Pancrase 289.

In the evening’s main event, flyweight King of Pancrase champion Mamoru Yamaguchi attempted to defend his title for the first time against Senzo Ikeda. Yamaguchi had won three straight including a split decision victory over Ikeda in their first meeting at Pancrase 277.

The event aired live at 2 a.m. ET on UFC Fight Pass.


Senzo Ikeda def. Mamoru Yamaguchi by unanimous decision (50-45×3) -flyweight title
Shinya Murofushi def. Seiji Ozuka by split decision (30-27, 28-29, 29-28)
Koyomi Matsushima def. Yusuke Kasuya by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
Takashi Sato def. Kenta Takagi by TKO (ground and pound). Round 1, 3:57
Kyle Aguon def. Isao Kobayashi by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Ryuta Sakurai def. Hikaru Sato by TKO (punches). Round 2, 0:23
Kenta Takizawa def. Toshiaki Kitada by TKO (punches). Round 2, 0:46
Yuya Shibata def. Yuki Yasunaga by unanimous decision (30-27×3)
Juri Ohara vs. Kyosuke Yokoyama ends in no contest (low blow). Round 2
Yusuke Ogikubo def. Tomohiro Adaniya by unanimous decision (29-28×3)
Nouki Fujii def. Richie Vaculik by submission (neck crank). Round 1, 3:42
Masatatsu Ueda def. Toru Ogawa by split decision
Hiroaki Ijima def. Ryo Hatta by unanimous decision
Kota Kondo def. Takashi Matsuoka by split decision
Kota Kawahata def. Tatsuya Watanabe by unanimous decision
Toshiya Takashima def. Kei Matsumura by unanimous decision