Stephen Thompson (R) and Johny Hendricks (Mike Sloan/Sherdog)

UFC Fight Night 82 Results: Thompson Batters Hendricks, Nelson Edges Rosholt

On Saturday, Feb. 6, the UFC hosted UFC Fight Night 82: Hendricks vs. Thompson from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

The event was originally slated to serve as UFC 196: Werdum vs. Velasquez II, but after an injury to the former champion Velasquez and a subsequent injury to the champion Werdum, the card was moved to Fox Sports 1 and rebranded as a Fight Night offering.

As a result of the switch, the welterweight contest between former titleholder Johny Hendricks and striking stalwart Stephen Thompson was elevated to the night’s top billing. Hendricks returned to action for the first time in nearly a year after a botched weight cut forced the cancellation of his scheduled bout with Tyron Woodley at UFC 192. Thompson entered the contest riding a five-fight winning streak that included three stoppages via strikes.


The 12-fight event kicked off Saturday with two preliminary card bouts streaming live on UFC Fight Pass at 7 p.m. ET. Four additional preliminary card bouts aired on Fox Sports 1 at 8 p.m. ET, with the six-fight main card taking place at 10 p.m. ET, also on Fox Sports 1.

Stephen Thompson def. Johny Hendricks by knockout (strikes). Round 1, 3:31
Roy Nelson def. Jared Rosholt by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Ovince Saint Preux def. Rafael Cavalcante by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Joseph Benavidez def. Zach Makovsky by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
Misha Cirkunov def. Alex Nicholson by submission (neck crank). Round 2, 1:28
Mike Pyle def. Sean Spencer by TKO (strikes). Round 3, 4:25
Josh Burkman def. K.J. Noons by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Derrick Lewis def. Damian Grabowski by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 2:17
Justin Scoggins def. Ray Borg by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)
Diego Rivas def. Noad Lahat by knockout (flying knee). Round 2, 0:23
Mickey Gall def. Mike Jackson by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 0:45
Alex White def. Artem Lobov by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)