Lorenz Larkin (Dave Mandel/Sherdog)

Bellator 229 Results: Larkin Edges Koreshkov, Yamauchi Submits Awad

On Friday, Oct. 4, Bellator MMA hosted its 229th event from the Pechanga Resort Casino in Temecula, Calif.

In the night’s main event, former welterweight champion Andrey Koreshkov took on UFC veteran Lorenz Larkin. Russia’s Koreshkov entered the contest having won three of his last four, with the lone defeat coming against former champion Douglas Lima. After dropping his first two Bellator outings, Larkin rode a two-fight winning streak into the headlining affair.

Preliminary-card action streamed live on the promotion’s website and DAZN starting at 8 p.m. ET. The main card was simulcast on both the Paramount Network and DAZN at 9 p.m. ET. Postlim bouts streamed live on DAZN following the main card.


Lorenz Larkin def. Andrey Koreshkov via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Goiti Yamauchi def. Saad Awad by submission (armbar). Round 1, 1:40
Keri Taylor-Melendez def. Mandy Polk by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Tony Johnson def. Joe Schilling by knockout (punch). Round 3, 2:07
Anatoly Tokov def. Hracho Darpinyan by TKO (elbows). Round 2, 4:38
Salim Mukhidinov def. Adel Altamimi by unanimous decision (29-27, 30-26, 30-27)
Jay Jay Wilson def. Jorge Juarez by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 1:33
Kelvin Gentapanan def. Sunni Imhotep by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Jordan Newman def. Riley Miller by TKO (punches). Round 1, 4:28
Vladimir Tokov def. Brandon Hastings by unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)
Johnny Eblen def. Mauricio Alonso by unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)
Joey Davis def. Jeff Peterson by knockout (flying knee). Round 1, 1:00
Derek Anderson def. Guilherme Bomba by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)