Rory MacDonald (Bellator MMA)

Bellator 206 Results: Mousasi Crushes MacDonald, Retains Middleweight Title

On Saturday, Sept. 29, Bellator MMA hosted its 206th event from the SAP Center in San Jose, Calif.

In the night’s main event, a pair of UFC veterans who both hold Bellator gold went to battle as middleweight champion Gegard Mousasi put his belt on the line against welterweight titleholder Rory MacDonald. Mousasi earned gold in May, stopping Rafael Carvalho in the first round by TKO. MacDonald, meanwhile, outlasted Douglas Lima over five rounds to capture the 170-pound strap in January.

Also on the main card, two of the sport’s most recognizable names met for a fourth time as Quinton “Rampage” Jackson locked horns with Wanderlei Silva. The Brazilian Silva stopped Jackson twice under the Pride FC banner, but Jackson exacted some revenge at UFC 92. Now Jackson looked to even the score at two wins apiece.


Finally, the promotion kicked off its welterweight grand prix tournament as former champions Douglas Lima and Andrey Koreshkov clashed in a rubber match.

The night’s preliminary card streamed on the promotion’s website beginning at 8 p.m. ET. The six-fight main card streamed live on DAZN at 10 p.m. ET.

Gegard Mousasi def. Rory MacDonald by TKO (punches). Round 2, 3:23 – for middleweight title
Quinton “Rampage” Jackson def. Wanderlei Silva by TKO (punches). Round 2, 4:32
Douglas Lima def. Andrey Koreshkov by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 5, 3:04 – welterweight grand prix opening round
Aaron Pico def. Leandro Higo by TKO (punches). Round 1, 3:19
Keri Taylor-Melendez def. Dakota Zimmerman by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Gaston Bolanos def. Ysidro Gutierrez by TKO (punches). Round 2, 1:37
Adam Piccolotti def. James Terry by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Cass Bell def. Ty Costa by submission (armbar). Round 2, 3:00
Arlene Blencowe def. Amber Leibrock by TKO (slam and punches). Round 3, 1:23
Jeremiah Labiano def. Justin Smitley by TKO (punches). Round 1, 3:41
Josh San Diego def. Joe Neal by split decision (28-29, 30-27, 29-28)
Chuck Campbell def. Joseph Ramirez by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Anthony Figueroa Jr. def. Samuel Romero by unanimous decision (29-27, 28-26, 29-26)