Robert Whittaker (Dave Mandel/Sherdog)

UFC Fight Night 101 Results: Whittaker Stops Brunson, Holbrook Edges Matthews

On Saturday, Nov. 26 (in North America), the UFC hosted UFC Fight Night 101: Whittaker vs. Brunson from the Rod Laver Arena in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

In the night’s main event, top-10 middleweights Robert Whittaker and Derek Brunson locked horns. New Zealand’s Whittaker is a former winner of The Ultimate Fighter and entered the contest having won five straight, including four in a row since moving up to 185 pounds. Brunson, a three-time Division II All-American wrestler, also rode a similar wave of momentum into the headlining affair. His five-fight winning streak included four straight first-round knockout victories.

The 13-fight event kicked off Saturday with three bouts streaming live on UFC Fight Pass at 6:30 p.m. ET. Four additional prelims followed at 8 p.m. ET on Fox Sports 1, with the six-fight main card airing live at 10 p.m. ET, also on Fox Sports 1.


Robert Whittaker def. Derek Brunson by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 4:07
Andrew Holbrook def. Jake Matthews by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Omari Akhmedov def. Kyle Noke by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
Alex Volkanovski def. Yusuke Kasuya by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 2:06
Tyson Pedro def. Khalil Rountree by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 4:07
Danielle Taylor def. Seo Hee Ham by split decision (28-29, 30-27, 30-27)
Daniel Kelly def. Chris Camozzi by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-27, 30-27)
Damien Brown def. Jon Tuck by split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)
Jonathan Meunier def. Richard Walsh by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Ben Nguyen def. Geane Herrera by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-26, 30-27)
Jason Knight def. Dan Hooker by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-26)
Marlon Vera def. Ning Guangyou by unanimous decision (29-28 x 3)
Jenel Lausa def. Yao Zhikui by unanimous decision (30-27 x 3)