On Saturday, July 25, the UFC hosted the fourth and final event from “Fight Island” as it again visited the Flash Forum on Yas Island in Abu Dhabi.

In the night’s main event, former middleweight titleholder Robert Whittaker took on former welterweight title challenger Darren Till. The New Zealand-born Australian Whittaker looked to bounce back from a second-round knockout loss to current champion Israel Adesanya in October. Before that, “Bobby Knuckles” had won nine straight. England’s Till, meanwhile, snapped a two-fight skid in his last outing, edging Kelvin Gastelum in his 185-pound debut. Prior to that, he had fallen to then-champion Tyron Woodley and recent title challenger Jorge Masvidal.

The event kicked off with the preliminary card airing live on ESPN at 5 p.m. ET. The main card followed at 8 p.m. ET, also on ESPN.

Robert Whittaker def. Darren Till by unanimous decision (48-47 x3)
Maurício “Shogun” Rua def. Antonio Rogerio Nogueira by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Fabrício Werdum def. Alexander Gustafsson by submission (armbar). Round 1, 2:30
Carla Esparza def. Marina Rodriguez by split decision (28-29, 29-28, 30-27)
Paul Craig def. Gadzhimurad Antigulov by submission (triangle choke). Round 1, 2:06
Alex Oliveira def. Peter Sobotta by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Khamzat Chimaev def. Rhys McKee by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 3:09
Francisco Trinaldo def. Jai Herbert by TKO (punches). Round 3, 1:30
Jesse Ronson def. Nicolas Dalby by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 2:48
Tom Aspinall def. Jake Collier by TKO (knee and punches). Round 1, 0:45
Movsar Evloev def. Mike Grundy by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Tanner Boser def. Raphael Pessoa by TKO (punches). Round 2, 2:36
Pannie Kianzad def. Bethe Correia by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Ramazan Emeev def. Niklas Stolze by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Nathaniel Wood def. John Castañeda by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)

About The Author

Rob Tatum
Assistant Editor

Rob Tatum has been covering combat sports since 2009. He provides radio content for Between Rounds Radio and his past work has appeared on Bleacher Report, MMA DieHards, MMAinterviews and The MMA Corner. Prior to covering combat sports, Rob ran his own music website from 2002-2009. Beyond his writing, Rob has trained in both Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and Muay Thai. He is a Colorado native that works as a mechanical engineer during the day. In his free time, Rob enjoys watching sports, playing music and working on cars.

Related Posts