Emiliano Sordi (R) lands a right hand against Vinny Magalhães (Ryan Loco/PFL)

PFL 2019 3 Results: Sordi Impresses, Tiller Taps De’Reese

The third edition in the 2019 season of the Professional Fighters League features heavyweights and light heavyweights. One thing’s for certain: these two divisions will not see repeat champions.

At the heavyweight level, injury will prevent Philipe Lins from duplicating last year’s success. With Lins out of the mix, a crowded field will vie for the rights to the title and a nice, big payday. Kelvin Tiller, Jared Rosholt, Valdrin Istrefi, Alex Nicholson and Francimar Barroso return from the 2018 pack. They are joined by Mo De’Reese, who fought in the PFL last season but not as part of the year-long competition, and newcomers Satoshi Ishii, Zeke Tuinei-Wily, Ali Isaev, Denis Goltsov, Ante Delija and Carl Seumanutafa.

The 2018 light heavyweight champion Sean O’Connell retired after his surprise run to the crown. His championship adversary Vinny Magalhães heads a group of returning fighters that also includes Maxim Grishin, Rakim Cleveland, Dan Spohn, Rashid Yusupov, Bazigit Ataev and Ronny Markes. The field also features undefeated UFC defector Jordan Johnson, as well as PFL veteran Emiliano Sordi and newcomers Viktor Nemkov, Sigi Pesaleli and Mikhail Mokhnatkin.


The third PFL show takes place at Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum in Long Island, N.Y. The action kicks off with four fights on ESPN 2 at 7 p.m. ET before switching to ESPN+ for the remaining bouts at 9 p.m. ET.

Emiliano Sordi def. Vinny Magalhães by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 2:45
Kelvin Tiller def. Mo De’Reese by submission (kimura). Round 1, 3:22
Satoshi Ishii def. Zeke Tuinei-Wily by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Denis Goltsov def. Jared Rosholt by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 2:03
Ali Isaev def. Valdrin Istrefi by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Viktor Nemkov def. Rakim Cleveland by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Ronny Markes def. Sigi Pesaleli by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 3:44
Rashid Yusupov def. Mikhail Mokhnatkin by unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)
Francimar Barroso def. Alex Nicholson by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Maxim Grishin def. Jordan Johnson by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Ante Delija def. Carl Seumanutafa by unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-27)
Bazigit Ataev def. Dan Spohn by knockout (strikes). Round 1, 3:25