Max Holloway (Dave Mandel/Sherdog)

UFC 231 Results: Holloway Defends Featherweight Title, Shevchenko Crowned

On Saturday, Dec. 8, the UFC hosted UFC 231: Holloway vs. Ortega from the Scotiabank Arena in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

In the night’s main event, featherweight champion Max Holloway put his belt on the line against undefeated challenger Brian Ortega. The Hawaiian Holloway defended his belt for a second time. The 27-year-old battled injuries over the last 12 months, resulting in his absence from the Octagon. Ortega, meanwhile, has yet to taste defeat through 15 professional outings. The submission ace entered the title affair having earned three straight post-fight bonuses.

Gold is also on the line in the night’s co-main event as former bantamweight title challenger Valentina Shevchenko took on former strawweight champion Joanna Jędrzejczyk for the promotion’s vacant flyweight belt.


The 13-fight event kicked off with four bouts streaming live on UFC Fight Pass at 6 p.m. ET. Four additional preliminary-card bouts followed on Fox Sports 1 at 8 p.m. ET, with the five-fight main card airing live on pay-per-view at 10 p.m. ET.

Max Holloway def. Brian Ortega by TKO (stoppage). Round 4, 5:00 – for featherweight title
Valentina Shevchenko def. Joanna Jędrzejczyk by unanimous decision (49-46×3) – for women’s flyweight title
Gunnar Nelson def. Alex Oliveira by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 4:17
Hakeem Dawodu def. Kyle Bochniak by split decision (30-27, 28-29, 30-27)
Thiago “Marreta” Santos def. Jimi Manuwa by knockout (left hook). Round 2, 0:41
Nina Ansaroff def. Claudia Gadelha via unanimous decision (29-28×3)
Gilbert Burns def. Olivier Aubin-Mercier by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Jessica Eye def. Katlyn Chookagian by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Elias Theodorou def. Eryk Anders by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Brad Katona def. Matthew Lopez by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
Dhiego Lima def. Chad Laprise by knockout (left hook). Round 1, 1:37
Carlos Diego Ferreira def. Kyle Nelson by TKO (ground and pound). Round 2, 1:23
Aleksandar Rakić def. Devin Clark by TKO (spinning back fist and punches). Round 1, 4:05