Sitthichai Sitsonpeenong (Lucas Johnson/Combat Press)

GLORY 57 Results: Sitthichai Edges Grigorian, Defends Lightweight Title

On Saturday, Aug. 25, GLORY Kickboxing hosted its 57th event from the Shenzen Bay Stadium in Shenzhen, China.

In the night’s main event, the world’s best kickboxer, Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong, clashed with Marat Grigorian for a fourth time. The pair’s previous three meetings have all ended with Sitthichai having his hand raised, including their GLORY 36 title clash in Germany. The Thai fighter had not lost in over two years, defending the GLORY lightweight title four times along the way. Grigorian had earned his way back to a title shot after demolishing fellow top-10 fighter Superbon Banchamek in just 29 seconds earlier this year.

The card also featured an eight-man, lightweight tournament that spaned the night’s preliminary card and SuperFight Series.


The GLORY 57 prelims kicked off at 4:15 a.m. ET on the promotion’s YouTube channel, Facebook page and Pluto TV channel 215. The SuperFight Series followed at 6 a.m. ET on UFC Fight Pass. The GLORY 57 main card aired live at 8:30 a.m. ET on ESPNews.

Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong def. Marat Grigorian by split decision (47-48, 48-47, 48-47, 48-47, 48-47) – for lightweight title
Cedric de Keirsmaeker def. Kaiyin Zhang by split decision (30-27, 27-30, 29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Khaial Dzhaniev def. Julio Lobo by unanimous decision (30-27×5)
Chenglong Zhang vs. Nafi Bilalovski ends in a no contest (accidental illegal strike). Round 1, 2:43
Asa Ten Pow def. Yuhang Xie by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28, 27-30, 30-27)
Liu Xu def. Wenshang Zhang by split decision (30-27, 28-29, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27) – lightweight tournament final
Chenchen Li def. Masaya Kubo by unanimous decision (29-27, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Jia Liu def. Zaza Sor Aree by unanimous decision (30-27×5)
Wenshang Zhang def. Li Deng by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 27-30, 29-28, 29-28) – lightweight tournament semifinal
Liu Xu def. Chao Wang by unanimous decision (30-27×5) – lightweight tournament semifinal
Wensheng Zhang def. Lei Feng by split decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27, 28-29) – lightweight tournament quarterfinal
Li Deng def. Alimjan Tursun by TKO (leg kicks). Round 1, 2:51 – lightweight tournament quarterfinal
Chao Wang def. Tiehan Xu by split decision (30-27, 27-30, 30-27, 29-28, 30-27) – lightweight tournament quarterfinal
Liu Xu def. Junchen Zhao by split decision (30-27, 27-30, 30-27, 29-28, 29-28) – lightweight tournament quarterfinal