Daniel Straus vs. Patricio Freire

Bellator 178 Results: Pitbull Taps Straus, Reclaims Title

On Friday, April 21, Bellator MMA hosted its 178th event from the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn.

In the night’s main event, featherweights Daniel Straus and Patricio “Pitbull” Freire met for a fourth time. The pair first met in 2011 in the finals of the season four featherweight tournament, with Brazil’s Freire earning a decision win. They met again in early 2015 at Bellator 132 with Freire dethroning Straus as the featherweight champion by fourth-round submission. Straus finally got his revenge at Belaltor 145, reclaiming his belt by unanimous decision. The champion had not competed since, while Freire has been in the cage twice, including a lightweight bout against former UFC champion Benson Henderson.

The co-main event featured a pair of unbeaten flyweights as Ilima-Lei MacFarlane took on Jessica Middleton.


The action kicked off Friday with a live preliminary card stream on Combat Press at 7 p.m. ET. The night’s main card aired on Spike TV beginning at 9 p.m. ET.

Patricio “Pitbull” Freire def. Daniel Straus by submission (guillotine choke). Round 2, 0:37 – for featherweight title
Ilima-Lei MacFarlane def. Jessica Middleton by submission (armbar). Round 1, 2:15
Saad Awad def. Ryan Quinn by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
A.J. McKee def. Dominic Mazzotta by knockout (head Kick). Round 1, 1:15
Kastriot Xhema def. Nick Alley by KO (strikes). Round 1, 3:19
Don Shainis def. Mak Kelleher by unanimous decision
Regivaldo Carvalho def. Jason Perrin by submission (guillotine choke). Round 3, 2:04
Kemran Lachinov def. Sam Watford by split decision
Remo Cardarelli def. John Lopez by unanimous decision
Chris Foster def. Shane Manley by split decision
Blair Tugman def. Tom English by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 3, 4:54
Jordan Young def. Tim Caron by submission (D’arce choke). Round 1, 3:55
Ed Ruth def. David Mundell by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 3:13
Tyrell Fortune def. Branko Busick by unanimous decision (29-27 x3)