Frankie Edgar (Dave Mandel/Sherdog)

UFC Fight Night 66 Results: Edgar Cruises Past Faber, Mousasi Dominates Philippou

On Saturday, May 16, the UFC hosted UFC Fight Night 66: Edgar vs. Faber from the SM Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay, Philippines.

In the night’s main event, former UFC lightweight champion Frankie Edgar welcomed former WEC titleholder Urijah Faber back to the featherweight division. The two veterans looked to build on their winning streaks and make a case for title contention. The 33-year-old Edgar had won three straight since falling short in his 145-pound title bid against Jose Aldo. Faber, meanwhile, had been plying his trade at bantamweight, where he racked up back-to-back submission wins over Alex Caceres and Francisco Rivera.

The co-main event featured former Strikeforce light heavyweight kingpin Gegard Mousasi against TUF alum Costas Philippou in a middleweight clash. The 29-year-old Mousasi got back in the win column in January with a 70-second demolition of Dan Henderson in Sweden. Philippou had been out of action since last May, when he stopped Lorenz Larkin with strikes.


The 12-fight event kicked off Saturday with two preliminary card bouts streaming on UFC Fight Pass at 7 a.m. ET. Four additional prelims followed at 8 a.m. ET on Fox Sports, with the six-fight main card airing live at 10 a.m. ET, also on Fox Sports 1.

Frankie Edgar def. Urijah Faber by unanimous decision (50-45 x3)
Gegard Mousasi def. Costas Philippou by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Mark Munoz def. Luke Barnatt by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Neil Magny def. Hyun Gyu Lim by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 1:24
Phillipe Nover def. Yui Chul Nam by split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)
Levan Makashvili def. Mark Eddiva by unanimous decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)
Jon Tuck def. Tae Hyun Bang by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 3:56
Kajan Johnson def. Lipeng Zhang by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
Li Jingliang def. Dhiego Lima by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 1:25
Ning Guangyou def. Royston Wee by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 4:59
Jon Delos Reyes def. Roldan Sangcha-an by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 3:13
Zhuikui Yao def. Nolan Ticman by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)