Nicco Montaño (

TUF 26 Finale Results: Montaño Bests Modafferi, Captures Inaugural Flyweight Title

On Friday, Dec. 1, the UFC hosted The Ultimate Fighter 26 Finale from the Park Theatre in Las Vegas.

In the night’s main event, the promotion crowned an inaugural women’s flyweight champion as Nicco Montaño and Roxanne Modafferi battled in the finals of The Ultimate Fighter 26. Montaño’s original opponent was slated to be Sijara Eubanks, but the Invicta FC veteran was hospitalized the night before weigh-ins and was removed from the card due to medical reasons. That opened the door for the No. 1 seed and semifinalist, Modafferi, to step in on just a day’s notice. Montaño edged Lauren Murphy, Montana de la Rosa (Stewart) and Barb Honchak on her way to the title match-up.

The card featured 14 of the 16 members of the reality show cast, as well as four additional bouts.


The 11-fight event kicked off Friday at 7:30 p.m. ET with one bout streaming live on UFC Fight Pass. Four additional preliminary-card bouts followed on Fox Sports 1 at 8 p.m. ET, with the six-fight main card airing live at 10 p.m. ET, also on Fox Sports 1.

Nicco Montaño def. Roxanne Modafferi by unanimous decision (50-45, 49-46, 49-46) – for inaugural women’s flyweight title
Sean O’Malley def. Terrion Ware by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Lauren Murphy def. Barb Honchak by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Gerald Meerschaert def. Eric Spicely by TKO (liver kick). Round 2, 2:18
DeAnna Bennett vs. Melinda Fábián ruled a majority draw (29-27, 28-28, 28-28)
Brett Johns def. Joe Soto by submission (calf slicer). Round 1, 0:30
Montana de la Rosa def. Christina Marks by submission (armbar). Round 1, 2:00
Ryan Janes def. Andrew Sanchez by TKO (punches). Round 3, 0:58
Rachael Ostovich-Berdon def. Karine Gevorgyan by submission (armbar). Round 1, 1:40
Shana Dobson def. Ariel Beck by TKO (punches). Round 2, 2:53
Gillian Robertson def. Emily Whitmire by submission (armbar). Round 1, 2:12