GLORY Kickboxing traveled to the Palais des Sports de Gerland in Lyon, France, on Saturday, Oct. 28, for GLORY 47: Lyon.

The promotion’s fifth trip to France featured Artem Vakhitov’s third defense of his GLORY light heavyweight title against contender tournament winner Ariel Machado. Vakhitov made the return to the ring for the first time since defending his belt against former champ Saulo Cavalari at GLORY 38.

Former GLORY welterweight champion Cédric Doumbé returned to his native France against one of the country’s other top stars, Yohan Lidon. Doumbé fell short against Murthel Groenhart in his failed title defense at GLORY 44 in August.

In the night’s featherweight contender tournament, current Rajadamnern stadium champ Fabio Pinca looked to earn a title shot against reigning GLORY champion Robin van Roosmalen. However, standing in his way was well-traveled Muay Thai veteran Anvar Boynazarov. On the other side of the four-man bracket, top-15 featherweight Abdellah Ezbiri welcomed Azize Hlali to the GLORY ring.

In the night’s Super Fight Series headliner, former top-10 talents Dylan Salvador and Massaro Glunder locked horns for positioning in the competitive featherweight division.

Elsewhere on the card, the world’s top-ranked female kickboxer, Anissa Meksen, returned to the GLORY ring against Turkey’s Funda Alkayis, top-10 welterweight Alim Nabiev made his GLORY debut against French Muay Thai specialist Jimmy Vienot, and a pair of French light heavyweights battled when undefeated Florent Kaouachi takes on Abdarhmane Coulibaly.

The GLORY 47 SuperFight Series aired at 1 p.m. ET on UFC Fight Pass. The main card aired live at 3:30 p.m. ET on ESPN3, Fox Sports Africa, SFR Sport 5, Fight Network (Canada), FreeSports (United Kingdom), OSN Sports (Middle East), Ziggo Sport (The Netherlands), Sky (New Zealand), Digisport (Europe), KBS (South Korea), Fight Channel (Bosnia & Herzegovina), KIX (Asia), QQ (China), and GLORY pay-per-view (International).

Artem Vakhitov def. Ariel Machado by unanimous decision (49-45, 50-44, 50-44, 50-44, 50-44) – for light heavyweight title
Abdellah Ezbiri def. Anvar Boynazarov by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27) – featherweight tournament final
Cédric Doumbé def. Yohan Lidon by unanimous decision (30-27 x5)
Abdellah Ezbiri def. Azize Hlali by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27) – featherweight tournament semifinal
Anvar Boynazarov def. Fabio Pinca by knockout (left hook). Round 2, 1:50 – featherweight tournament semifinal
Dylan Salvador def. Massaro Glunder by unanimous decision (28-26 x5)
Abdarhmane Coulibaly def. Florent Kaouachi by split decision (29-28, 29-28, 28-29, 28-29, 29-28)
Anissa Meksen def. Funda Alkayis by TKO (foot injury). Round 3, 0:17
Yassine Ahaggan def. Maxim Vorovski by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
Alim Nabiev def. Jimmy Vienot by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

About The Author

Rob Tatum
Assistant Editor

Rob Tatum has been covering combat sports since 2009. He provides radio content for Between Rounds Radio and his past work has appeared on Bleacher Report, MMA DieHards, MMAinterviews and The MMA Corner. Prior to covering combat sports, Rob ran his own music website from 2002-2009. Beyond his writing, Rob has trained in both Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and Muay Thai. He is a Colorado native that works as a mechanical engineer during the day. In his free time, Rob enjoys watching sports, playing music and working on cars.

Related Posts