2008 Gold Medalist Cai Liangchan (Kunlun Fight/Facebook)

Kunlun Fight 52 Results: Gerasimchuk Wins Tournament, Kiria Topples Zuev

On Sunday, Sept. 11, Kunlun Fight returned to Fuzhou, China for the second of back-to-back events. Kunlun Fight 52 featured the 100-kilogram tournament and a number of strong match-ups from top to bottom.

The fight card featured Chinese kickboxer Wang Wanben defending his country’s honor against K-1 veteran Denis Puric. Also, 2008 Olympic gold medalist Cai Liangchan made his promotional debut against Phetmonkong Gaiyanghaadao. Undefeated Wardog Cage Fight champion Jo Sungbin returned to the promotion against Alateng Burigede. Former GLORY lightweight champion Davit Kiria fought 2014 Kunlun Fight 70-kilogram tournament winner Dzianis Zuev for the final place in the quarterfinals of the 2016 70-kilogram tournament. Current top-10 lightweight Anatoly Moiseev returned to Kunlun Fight in a match-up with late replacement Tamaz Izoria.

The 100-kilogram tournament featured Andrei Gerasimchuk fighting Greek heavyweight Atha Kasapis. Popular Chinese heavyweight Ashihati hoped to keep the tournament title in his home country when he fought Ukranian kickboxer Rogava Tsotne. Gerasimchuk clashed with Tsotne in the finals. The bout was a rematch of their IFMA muay thai championship from earlier this year.


The event aired live on the Kunlun Fight App, YY.com and JiangsuTV.

Wang Wanben def. Denis Puric by decision
Andrei Gerasimchuk def. Rogava Tsotne by extra round decision – 100-kilogram tournament final
Cai Liangchan def. Phetmonkong Gaiyanghaadao by decision
MMA: Jo Sungbin def. Alateng Burigede by submission (armbar). Round 1
Andrei Gerasimchuk def. Atha Kasapis by decision – 100-kilogram tournament semifinal
Rogava Tsotne def. Ashihati by knockout (knee). Round 1 – 100-kilogram tournament semifinal
Davit Kiria def. Dzianis Zuev by decision – 70-kilogram tournament final 16
Ekaterina Vandaryeva def. Ren Kailin by extra round decision
Anatoly Moiseev def. Tamaz Izoria by decision
MMA: Asikerbai Jinensibieke def. Flavio Carvalho by decision
Zhang Chunyu def. Kim Hwatae by TKO (leg kicks). Round 2
Hua Xu def. Behzad Rezmanesh by knockout (knee). Round 3