Lion Fight 20 Results: Baars Crushes Ughi to Retain Title, Sittisak Dominates Mauceri

On Friday, Feb. 20, Lion Fight hosted its 20th event from the Foxwoods Resort Casino in Ledyard, Conn. The night’s main card aired live on AXS TV.

In the night’s main event, the promotion’s welterweight champion, Jorina Baars, faced off with Chantal Ughi. Baars captured the title in March with a five-round, unanimous decision win over Invicta FC featherweight champion Cristiane “Cyborg” Justino. The Dutchwoman had amassed a record of 36-0 thus far inside the ring. Ughi, meanwhile, stepped up on short notice, replacing an injured Casey Bohrman. The fight marked the second meeting between the pair, as Baars edged Ughi by split decision in 2009.

Also on the card, American Chris Mauceri faced another tough test as he locks horns with veteran Thai fighter Sittisak in the co-main event. Mauceri was no stranger to the spotlight, having already battled current Lion Fight super lightweight title holder Kevin Ross and defeating the well-traveled Coke Chunhawat. Like his opponent, Sittisak had also graced the ring with Ross and put on one of the most exciting fights in promotional history. He looked to repeat that performance against Mauceri.


Jorina Baars def. Chantal Ughi bt TKO (referee’s stoppage). Round 3, 3:00 – for welterweight title
Jo Sittisak def. Chris Mauceri by unanimous decision (48-47 x3)
John Nofer def. Jason Andrada by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 2:58
Jo Nattawut def. Richard Abraham by unanimous decision (49-44, 49-45, 48-45)
Gaston Bolanos def. Caleb Archer by knockout (spinning back elbow). Round 3, 1:05
Julio Pena def. Tom Evans by knockout (overhand right). Round 1, 1:30
Bryce Lawrence def. Tim Amorim by decision.
Phil DaSilva def. Ben Anton by split decision (a)
Julian Nguyen def. Chris Malloy by unanimous decision (a)
Stacey Scapeccia def. Colleen Downey  by unanimous decision (a)
Greg Muldrow def. Mike Carbonneau by knockout. Round 1 (a)
Kris Silck def. Brian Gamez by TKO. Round 2 (a)

(a) – denotes amateur bout