Brian Foster (Jeff Vulgamore/Combat Press)

WSOF 25 Results: Foster Crushes Zeferino in Unexpected Rematch to Claim Tournament

On Friday, Nov. 20, World Series of Fighting held its 25th event from the Comerica Theatre in Phoenix.

The event featured a throwback to the early days of MMA as the promotion held an eight-man, one-night lightweight tournament that rewarded the winner with a title shot against current champion Justin Gaethje.

The field was littered with veterans of the UFC, Bellator MMA and other recognizable promotions. Former title challengers Luis Palomino and Richard Patishnock squared off in one match-up, Brian Foster met Joao Zeferino, Joe Condon collided with Mike Ricci, while MMA pioneer Jorge Patino took on Islam Mamedov in the final part of the bracket.


The preliminary card kicked off at 8 p.m. ET. The main card was broadcast on the NBC Sports Network at 11 p.m. ET.

Above are highlight of the dominant performance of Foster against Zeferino in the finals (courtesy of NBC Sports).

Brian Foster def. Joao Zeferino by knockout (punches). Round 2, 4:51 – lightweight tournament final
Jason High def. Estevan Payan by knockout (strikes). Round 2, 0:47
Brian Foster def. Luis Palomino by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 4:19 – lightweight tournament semifinal
Joao Zeferino def. Jorge Patino by submission (heel hook). Round 1, 1:24 – lightweight tournament semifinal
Joseph Barajas def. Erik Villalobos by TKO (strikes). Round 3, 4:06
Roberto Yong def. Jimmy Skully by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 1:11
Luis Palomino def. Rich Patishnock by knockout (strikes). Round 1, 4:55 – lightweight tournament quarterfinal
Joao Zeferino def. Brian Foster by submission (heel hook). Round 1, 1:46 – lightweight tournament quarterfinal
Mike Ricci def. Joe Condon by TKO (head kick and punches). Round 1, 2:41, – lightweight tournament quarterfinal
Islam Mamedov def. Jorge Patino by unanimous decision (20-18, 20-18, 20-18) – lightweight tournament quarterfinal
Ramil Mustapayev def. Larue Burley by unanimous decision (20-18, 20-18, 20-18) – lightweight tournament reserve bout