Ryan Bader (Dave Mandel/Sherdog)

Bellator 226 Results: Bader and Kongo Ends in No-Contest After Eye Poke

On Saturday, Sept. 7, Bellator MMA hosted its 226th event from the SAP Center in San Jose, Calif.

In the night’s main event, the promotion’s light heavyweight and heavyweight champion, Ryan Bader, defended the heavyweight strap against fellow UFC veteran Cheick Kongo.

The main card also featured the first four bouts in the promotion’s 16-man featherweight tournament. Former champions Daniel Straus and Pat Curran were among the eight fighters in action.


The event kicked off with a preliminary-card stream on the promotion’s website and DAZN at 6:45 p.m. ET. The main card streamed on DAZN at 10 p.m. ET.

Ryan Bader vs. Cheick Kongo was ruled a no-contest (accidental eye poke). Round 1, 3:52 – for heavyweight title
Derek Campos def. Daniel Straus by unanimous decision (30-26, 30-25, 30-25) – featherweight tournament opening round
Adam Borics def. Pat Curran by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 4:59 – featherweight tournament opening round
Emmanuel Sanchez def. Tywan Claxton by submission (triangle choke). Round 2, 4:11 – featherweight tournament opening round
Pedro Carvalho def. Sam Sicilia by submission (face crank). Round 2, 1:56 – featherweight tournament opening round
Daniel Carey def. Gaston Bolanos by technical submission (guillotine). Round 1, 4:19
Ivan Batinich def. Daniel Compton by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 4:33
Tyson Miller def. Albert Gonzales by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 1:18
Alan Benson def. Favian Gutierrez by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Peter Ishiguro def. Elias Anderson by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Daniel Gonzalez def. Jon Adams by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 4:56
Cornelius Savage def. Evan Gubera by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
John Teixeira def. Ashleigh Grimshaw by TKO (corner stoppage). Round 2, 5:00
Adam Piccolotti def. Jake Smith by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 2:34
Jessica Borga def. Amber Leibrock by submission (armbar). Round 1, 4:45
Cass Bell def. Isaiah Rocha by submission (guillotine choke). Round 1, 1:21
Batsumberel Dagvadorj def. James Terry by submission (bulldog choke). Round 1, 2:43
Renato Valente Alves def. Abraham Vaesau by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 3, 3:36
Hyder Amil def. Ignacio Ortiz by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Chris Gonzalez def. Luis Vargas by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-26, 30-25)