Andy Souwer (Shoot Boxing/Facebook)

Shoot Boxing World Tournament S-Cup 2016 Results: Zougari Captures S-Cup Title

On Friday, Nov. 11, the year-end Shoot Boxing tournament returned after a one-year hiatus for the Shoot Boxing World Tournament S-Cup 2016.

In the main event of the evening, Shoot Boxing flyweight world champion Rena Kubota returned to face Brazilian mixed martial arts fighter Kinberly Novaes. Rena is a four-time winner of the famous Shoot Boxing Girls S-Cup tournament when she brought the title home in 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2014. Rena has transformed her kickboxing and shoot boxing success into a budding MMA career with the Rizin Fighting Federation. Novaes may be most known for her unusual title victory at Noxii Combat 1 while unknowingly being 12 weeks pregnant. The 25-year-old Brazilian striker holds a knockout victory over UFC fighter Jessica Andrade.

In the evening’s S-Cup tournament action, Shoot Boxing super lightweight world champion Hiroaki Suzuki had the chance to repeat as S-Cup tournament champion after winning the last one-night, eight-man 65-kilogram tournament in 2014. Suzuki took on ABW lightweight champion Hideki. In the other semifinal bouts, Pride and RIZIN veteran Charles “Felony” Bennett (formerly Krazy Horse) made his Shoot boxing debut opposite Shoot Boxing S-Cup Japan super lightweight champion Masaya. Shoot Boxing S-Cup 2014 tournament runner-up Zakari Zougari returned against WBC Muay Thai Japan super lightweight champion Hiroto Yamaguchi. Lastly, REBELS 65-kilogram champion Yousuke Mizuochi faced off with Thailand’s Tapplon Hadesgym.


In the evening’s main card action, four-time Shoot Boxing S-Cup and two-time K-1 MAX world champion Andy Souwer returned to the kickboxing ring (sort of) after dropping his most recent MMA bout to UFC veteran Daron Cruickshank at Rizin World Grand Prix 2016: 1st Round. Souwer met WBC Muay Thai super welterweight champion Soichiro Miyakoshi. Shoot Boxing women’s 48-kilogram champion Mio Tsumura defended her title against Zhu Li after an extra round decision. Daiki Naito defended his Shooto Boxing 55-kilogram title against No.1 contender Seiki Ueyama.

The event aired live at 3:30 a.m. ET on Shootboxing’s streaming service.

Rena Kubota def. Kinberly Novaes by unanimous decision (30-28, 30-29, 30-28)
Zakaria Zougari def. Masaya by TKO (three knockdowns). Round 2, 1:14 – S-Cup 65-kilogram tournament final
Andy Souwer def. Soichiro Miyakoshi by unanimous decision (30-28, 29-27, 29-28)
Daiki Naito def. Seiki Ueyama by knockout (left hook). Round 3, 2:14 -super bantamweight title
Zakaria Zougari def. Tapplon Hadesgym by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-28) – S-Cup 65-kilogram tournament semifinal
Masaya def. Hideki by TKO (corner stoppage), Round 1, 2:07 – S-Cup 65-kilogram tournament semifinal (Hideki moved on due to Suzuki’s fractured orbital)
Mio Tsumura def. Zhu Li by extra round decision after majority draw (48-47, 49-49, 48-48) – women’s 48-kilogram title
Tapplon Hadesgym def. Yousuke Mizuochi by TKO (right hook). Round 2, 0:40 – S-Cup 65-kilogram tournament quarterfinal
Zakaria Zougari def. Hiroto Yamaguchi by KO (spinning back fist). Round 1, 1:27 – S-Cup 65-kilogram tournament quarterfinal
Masaya def. Charles “Felony” Bennett by TKO (punches). Round 2, 2:04 – S-Cup 65-kilogram tournament quarterfinal
Hiroaki Suzuki def. Hideki by extra round decision after majority draw (29-28, 29-29, 29-29) – S-Cup 65-kilogram tournament quarterfinal
Murata Makiaka def. Yoshihiko Nakamasa by unanimous decision (30-25, 30-25, 30-26)