Nieky Holzken (James Law/GLORY)

GLORY 26 Results: Holzken, Verhoeven Retain Titles; Amrani Dominates Tournament

On Friday, Dec. 4, GLORY made its long awaited debut in the Netherlands. GLORY 26: Amsterdam marked the promotion’s first trip to the birthplace of Dutch-style kickboxing.

The GLORY welterweight title was on the line in the main event when defending champion Nieky Holzken put his belt on the line against GLORY welterweight contender tournament winner Murthel Groenhart. Groenhart earned his title shot with two wins in one night at GLORY 25: Milan in November. Holzken won the vacant title at GLORY 23: Las Vegas when former GLORY welterweight champion Joseph Valtellini vacated the title due to post-concussion syndrome. The championship bout was a rematch of an October 2010 bout in which Holzken defeated Groenhart by decision after an extension round during the quarterfinals of the United Glory 2010-11 World Series.

In the evening’s co-main event, GLORY heavyweight champion Rico Verhoeven staved off No. 1 contender Benjamin Adegbuyi’s second shot at a GLORY gold. Verhoeven had defended his crown twice since earning the title with a decision victory over Daniel Ghiţă at GLORY 17: Los Angeles. He last defended his title against Adegbuyi at GLORY 22: Lille in June. Adegbuyi earned his second crack at the Dutchman with victories over Mladen Brestovac and Jahfarr Wilnis in the same night at GLORY 24: Denver in October.


The main card also featured a four-man, one-night featherweight contender tournament. Former GLORY featherweight title challenger Mosab Amrani met K-1 veteran Chi Bin Lim, while American Shane Oblonsky took on Brazil’s Maykol Yurk.

The GLORY 26: Amsterdam main card streamed live on ESPN 3 and Combat Press at 4 p.m. ET. The Super Fight Series streamed live on Combat Press at 1:30 p.m. ET.

Nieky Holzken def. Murthel Groenhart by split decision (48-47, 46-49, 49-46) – for welterweight title
Mosab Amrani def. Maykol Yurk by TKO (liver kick). Round 1, 1:51 – featherweight contender tournament final
Rico Verhoeven def. Benjamin Adegbuyi by knockout (punch). Round 1, 2:12 – for heavyweight title
Mosab Amrani def. Chi Bin Lim by TKO (two-knockdown rule). Round 1, 1:32 – featherweight contender tournament semifinal
Maykol Yurk def. Shane Oblonsky by TKO (two-knockdown rule). Round 2, 1:30 – featherweight contender tournament semifinal
Thomas Vanneste def. Errol Zimmerman by split decision (30-27, 27-30, 30-27)
Mourad Bouzidi def. Danyo Ilunga by split decision (29-27, 27-28, 29-27)
Zinedine Hameur-Lain def. Fred Sikking by unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 29-27)
Yoann Kongolo def. Karapet Karapetyan by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Perviz Abdullayev def. Aziz Kallah by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 30-27)