Roan Carneiro (L) (Dave Mandel/Sherdog)

BattleGrounds MMA O.N.E. Results: Roan Carneiro Claims Eight-Man Tournament

On Friday, Oct. 3,Ā BattleGrounds MMA heldĀ O.N.E., a one-night, eight-man welterweight tournament that will award its winner a grand prize of $50,000. The event took place from theĀ BOK Center inĀ Tulsa, Okla. The night’s action aired live on pay-per-view.

The tournament field featured a mix of UFC veterans and fast-rising prospects. The match-ups were selected during a live draw at the weigh-ins on Thursday, Oct. 2. The eight fighters competing for the cash prize were Cody McKenzie,Ā Jesse Taylor,Ā Joe Ray,Ā Brock Larson,Ā Luigi Fioravanti,Ā Roan Carneiro, Trey HoustonĀ and Randall Wallace.

McKenzie, Taylor, Larson,Ā Fioravanti andĀ Carneiro had all competed in the Octagon, Ray had appeared inĀ Strikeforce and XFC, Houston had fought for Bellator, and Wallace was a veteran of Tachi Palace Fights.


The preliminary card kicked off at 9:15 p.m. ET, with the main card beginning at 10 p.m. ET.

Roan Carneiro def. Brock Larson by unanimous decision (30-27 x3) – welterweight tournament final
Chris Gutierrez def. Tyler Shinn by split decision (29-28, 27-30, 29-28)
Brock Larson def. Joe Ray by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)Ā – welterweight tournamentĀ semifinal
Roan Carneiro def. Trey Houston by TKO (punches). Round 2, 2:11Ā – welterweight tournamentĀ semifinal
Zac Church def. Ryan Hayes by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Niko Koliastasis def. Wayne Cole by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 1:32
Joe Ray def. Luigi Fioravanti by TKO (knees and punches). Round 1, 2:39 – welterweight tournament opening round
Brock Larson def. Cody McKenzie by submission (arm-triangle choke). Round 2, 1:43Ā – welterweight tournament opening round
Roan Carneiro def. Randall Wallace by submission (armbar). Round 1, 3:29Ā – welterweight tournament opening round
Trey Houston def. Jesse Taylor by submission (armbar). Round 1, 2:10Ā – welterweight tournament opening round
Jamal Parks def. Ruben Warr by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Bryan McVea def. Mike Cook by submission (arm-triangle choke). Round 2, 1:39
Demoreo Dennis def. Bryan Porritt by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 2:05