Justin Gaethje (Phil Lambert/Combat Press)

TUF 25 Finale Results: Gaethje Stops Johnson in War, Taylor Claims Tournament

On Friday, July 7, the UFC hosted The Ultimate Fighter 25 Finale from the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas.

In the night’s main event, a pair of top-10 lightweights locked horns as Michael Johnson welcomed unbeaten World Series of Fighting champion Justin Gaethje to the Octagon. The 31-year-old Johnson was looking to get back in the win column after being submitted by Khabib Nurmagomedov at UFC 205. Prior to that, Johnson knocked out Dustin Poirier in the first round. Gaethje, meanwhile, entered the promotion having won his first 17 bouts, including 14 by some form of knockout. The Colorado-based fighter made 10 appearances inside the WSOF cage before signing with the UFC.

Also on the card, the promotion crowned the winner of the 25th season of The Ultimate Fighterdubbed “Redemption.” The final of the tournament pitted Dhiego Lima against Jesse Taylor.


The 11-fight event kicked off Friday at 6:30 p.m. ET with one bout streaming live on UFC Fight Pass. Four additional preliminary card bouts followed on Fox Sports 1 at 7 p.m. ET. The six-fight main card aired live at 9 p.m. ET, also on Fox Sports 1.

Justin Gaethje def. Michael Johnson by TKO (strikes) Round 2, 4:48
Jesse Taylor def. Dhiego Lima by submission (rear-naked choke) Round 2, 0:43 – TUF 25 tournament final
Drakkar Klose def. Marc Diakiese by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Jared Cannonier def. Nick Roehrick by TKO (strikes) Round 3, 2:08
Brad Tavares def. Elias Theodorou by unanimous decision (29-28 x 3)
Jordan Johnson def. Marcel Fortuna by unanimous decision (29-28 x 3)
Angela Hill def. Ashley Yoder def. by unanimous decision (30-27 x 3)
James Krause def. Tom Gallicchio by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
C.B. Dollaway def. Ed Herman by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-27, 29-27)
Tecia Torres def. Juliana Lima by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 0:53
Gray Maynard def. Teruto Ishihara by unanimous decision (30-26 x3)