Rafael Lovato Jr. (Keith Mills/Sherdog)

Bellator 223 Results: Lovato Jr. Unseats Mousasi, Claims Middleweight Title

On Saturday, June 22, Bellator MMA hosted its 223rd event from The SSE Arena in London.

In the night’s main event, middleweight champion Gegard Mousasi put his belt on the line against undefeated submission specialist Rafael Lovato Jr. Mousasi was coming off a successful defense of the belt against welterweight champion Rory MacDonald. Lovato earned his ninth straight win against John Salter in September.

The action kicked off at 11:30 a.m. ET on the Bellator app. The main card airs via tape-delay on DAZN at 9 p.m. ET.


Rafael Lovato Jr. def. Gegard Mousasi by majority decision (47-47, 48-47, 48-47) – for middleweight title
Melvin Manhoef def. Kent Kauppinen by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Aaron Chalmers def. Fred Freeman by submission (triangle choke). Round 2, 4:05
Paul Daley def. Erick Silva by unanimous decision (29-27 x3)
James Gallagher def Jeremiah Labiano by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Fabian Edwards def. Jonathan Bosuku by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Costello van Steenis def. Mike Shipman by knockout (punches). Round 2, 1:34
Charlie Ward def. Justin Moore by TKO (punches). Round 2, 3:23
Denise Kielholtz def Bryony Tyrell by TKO (strikes). Round 3, 2:48
Charlie Leary def. Chris Bungard by unanimous decision (30-25, 30-25, 30-25)
Kate Jackson def. Lena Ovchynnikova by TKO (doctor’s stoppage). Round 1, 4:20
Terry Brazier def. Alessandro Botti by submission (Americana). Round 3, 2:17
Luke Ord def Nathan Rose by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 30-25)
Alfie Davis def. Jorge Kanella by unanimous decision (29-27, 29-27, 29-27)
Justin Burlinson def. Wendle Lewis by verbal submission (injury). Round 1, 0:09
Galore Bofando def Keith McCabe by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Kevin Fryer def. John Redmond by split decision (29-28, 28-29 29-28)
Frans Mlambo def. Nathan Greyson by submission (D’Arce choke). Round 2, 4:22
Oliver Enkamp def. Walter Gahadza by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1