Anthony Smith (Jade Kimmel/Combat Press)

UFC Fight Night 138 Results: Smith Chokes Oezdemir, Johnson Dominates Lobov

On Saturday, Oct. 27, the UFC hosted UFC Fight Night 138: Volkan vs. Smith from the Avenir Centre in Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada.

In the night’s main event, former light heavyweight title challenger Volkan Oezdemir took on surging veteran Anthony Smith. Oezdemir stepped into the Octagon for the first time since falling via second-round TKO to current champion Daniel Cormier in January. Prior to that, the Bellator MMA veteran had reeled off three straight wins, including back-to-back knockouts of Jimi Manuwa and Misha Cirkunov. Smith, meanwhile, was red-hot, having won five of his last six. The Nebraska native made the jump to 205 pounds in June and promptly dispatched of former champions Rashad Evans and Mauricio “Shogun” Rua in a combined two minutes and 22 seconds.

The 13-fight event kicked off with three fights streaming live on UFC Fight Pass at 6:30 p.m. ET. Four additional preliminary-card bouts followed at 8 p.m. ET on Fox Sports 2, with the six-fight main card airing live at 10 p.m. ET on Fox Sports 1.


Anthony Smith def. Volkan Oezdemir by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 3, 4:26
Michael Johnson def. Artem Lobov by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
Misha Cirkunov def. Patrick Cummins by submission (arm-triangle choke). Round 1, 2:40
Andre Soukhamthath def. Jonathan Martinez by unanimous decision (30-26, 29-28, 29-28)
Gian Villante def. Ed Herman by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Court McGee def. Alex Garcia by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-28)
Sean Strickland def. Nordine Taleb by TKO (punches). Round 2, 3:10
Nasrat Haqparast def. Thibault Gouti by unanimous decision (29-27, 29-28, 30-26)
Calvin Kattar def. Chris Fishgold by TKO (punches). Round 1, 4:11
Talita Bernardo def. Sarah Moras by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
Don Madge def. Te Edwards by knockout (head kick). Round 2, 0:14
Arjan Bhullar def. Marcelo Golm by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-27)
Stevie Ray def. Jessin Ayari by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)