T.J. Dillashaw (Dave Mandel/Sherdog)

UFC 227 Results: Dillashaw Destroys Garbrandt, Cejudo Upsets Johnson

The UFC returned to the City of Angels on Saturday, Aug. 4, with a title doubleheader showcasing the promotion’s two lightest weight classes on the men’s side of the board.

In the night’s main event, the rivalry between former teammates T.J. Dillashaw and Cody Garbrandt continued. Dillashaw recaptured bantamweight gold when the pair clashed at UFC 217 in November and Dillashaw knocked out Garbrandt in the second round. Garbrandt looked to match Dillashaw as a two-time champion, whereas Dillashaw tried to cement his legacy with another victory. Less than five minutes into the fight, the champion defended once again with a nasty TKO to finish Garbrandt two times in a row.

Gold was also on the line in the co-headliner, where the sport’s pound-for-pound king, Demetrious “Mighty Mouse” Johnson, rematched Henry Cejudo for the flyweight title. Johnson had not tasted defeat since 2011 while racking up 11 straight title defenses along the way. One of those defenses came against Cejudo at UFC 197, where Johnson stopped the Olympic gold medalist with vicious knees to the body. After a back-and-forth, five-round battle, Cejudo took a split decision to upset the longtime champion, as the UFC crowned it’s only second men’s flyweight champion ever.


The 12-fight event took place at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. See below for full results.

T.J. Dillashaw def. Cody Garbrandt by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 4:10 – for bantamweight title
Henry Cejudo def. Demetrious Johnson by split decision (48-47, 47-48, 48-47) – for flyweight title
Renato Moicano def. Cub Swanson by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 4:15
J.J. Aldrich def. Polyana Viana by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-27)
Thiago “Marreta” Santos def. Kevin Holland by unanimous decision (29-27, 29-27, 29-26)
Pedro Munhoz def. Brett Johns by unanimous decision (30-26, 29-28, 29-27)
Ricky Simon def. Montel Jackson by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Ricardo Ramos def. Kyung Ho Kang by split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)
Sheymon Moraes def. Matt Sayles by unanimous decision (29-28 x 3)
Alex Perez def. Jose Torres by TKO (punches). Round 1, 3:46
Weili Zhang def. Danielle Taylor by unanimous decision (29-28 x 3)
Marlon Vera def. Wuliji Buren by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 4:53