Georges St-Pierre (Jeff Vulgamore/Combat Press)

UFC 217 Results: St-Pierre, Dillashaw, Namajunas Capture Titles

On Saturday, Nov. 4, the UFC brought a title tripleheader to Madison Square Garden in New York City for UFC 217: Bisping vs. St-Pierre.

In the night’s main event, UFC middleweight champion Michael Bisping welcomed former welterweight champion Georges St-Pierre back to the Octagon. England’s Bisping captured gold at UFC 199 and had since defended the belt against Dan Henderson. The Canadian St-Pierre had not fought since a successful title defense at UFC 167 in late 2013. He later relinquished the belt and stepped away from the sport, but had not tasted defeat in over 10 years.

The bantamweight belt was on the line in the co-main event as former teammates Cody Garbrandt and T.J. Dillashaw locked horns. Garbrandt captured the belt with a dominant performance against Dominick Cruz last December. A former champion himself, Dillashaw was looking to recapture the title.


Finally, women’s strawweight champion Joanna Jędrzejczyk put her title on the line against surging contender Rose Namajunas.

The 11-fight event kicked off Saturday at 7 p.m. ET with two fights streaming on UFC Fight Pass. Four additional preliminary card bouts followed at 8 p.m. ET on Fox Sports 1, with the five-fight main card airing live on pay-per-view at 10 p.m. ET.

Georges St-Pierre def. Michael Bisping by technical submission (rear-naked choke). Round 3, 4:23 – for middleweight title
T.J. Dillashaw def. Cody Garbrandt by knockout (punches). Round 2, 2:41 – for bantamweight title
Rose Namajunas def. Joanna Jędrzejczyk by knockout (punches). Round 1, 3:03 – for women’s strawweight title
Stephen Thompson def. Jorge Masvidal by unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)
Paulo Costa def. Johny Hendricks by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 1:23
James Vick def. Joseph Duffy by TKO (punches). Round 2, 4:59
Mark Godbeer def. Walt Harris by disqualification (illegal strikes). Round 1, 4:29
Ovince Saint Preux def. Corey Anderson by knockout (left head kick). Round 3, 1:25
Randy Brown def. Mickey Gall by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-27)
Curtis Blaydes def. Aleksei Oleinik by TKO (doctor’s stoppage). Round 2, 1:56
Ricardo Ramos def. Aiemann Zahabi by knockout (spinning back elbow). Round 3, 1:58