Rizin 11

Rizin 11 Results: Asakura Bests Rena, Horiguchi Reigns Supreme

On Sunday, July 29, Rizin Fighting Federation held its 13th event from the Saitama Super Arena in Saitama, Japan, for Rizin 11.

The main event of the evening was a much-anticipated rematch between Rizin women’s super atomweight grand prix winner Kanna Asakura and highly-decorated Shoot Boxing champion Rena Kubota. In the first meeting, Asakura choked out Rena with a rear-naked choke in the second round, becoming the first person to beat the popular striker under MMA rules.

In addition to the headliner, The Ultimate Fighter 24 finalist and current Shooto world champion Hiromasa Ogikubo had his chance for redemption against Japanese superstar Kyoji Horiguchi, who submitted Ogikubo to win the Shooto featherweight title in 2013.


The fight card aired live at 2 a.m. ET on Combat Press via FITE TV.

Kanna Asakura def. Rena Kubota by unanimous decision
Kyoji Horiguchi def. Hiromasa Ogikubo by unanimous decision
Jiří Procházka def. Bruno Henrique Cappelozza by knockout. Round 1
Takanori Gomi def. Melvin Guillard by TKO (punches). Round 1
Diego Brandão def. Satoru Kitaoka by TKO (ground and pound). Round 1
Unurjargal Boldpurev def. Shoma Shibisai by unanimous decision
kickboxing: Kaito def. Yoshiya Uzatsuyo by knockout (knee). Round 2
Miyuu Yamamoto def. Saori Ishioka by split decision
Topnoi Tiger Muay Thai def. Tadaaki “Onibozu” Yamamoto by knockout (punches). Round 1
Daron Cruickshank def. Tom Santos by TKO (elbows). Round 3