Soo Chul Kim (Lee Li/Sherdog)

ROAD FC 038 Results: Soo Chul Kim Captures Title With Emotional Victory

On Saturday, April 15, ROAD FC traveled to the Jangchung Gymnasium in Seoul, South Korea for ROAD FC 38.

In the night’s main event, former ONE FC bantamweight champion Soo Chul Kim took on South Korea’s Min Woo Kim. Soo Chul Kim was unbeaten in his past nine fights with victories over five UFC veterans including Marcus Brimage, Tuerxun Jumabieke, Shunichi Shimizu, Issei Tamura and Motonobu Tezuka. Min Woo Kim had won seven of his eight fights under the ROAD FC banner and had avenged his only career loss to Je Hoon Moon at ROAD FC 29.

In the rest of the night’s action, four fighters qualified for the round of 16 in the ROAD FC one-million dollar tournament. Former UFC veteran Yui Chul Nam took on late replacement opponent Tom Santos, Brazilian striker Bruno Miranda met Mongolian lightweight Munguntsooj Nandin-Erdene, and former BAMMA champion Mansour Barnaoui fought South Korea’s Won Bin Ki. Lastly, China’s Lianru Shang fights Mongolia’s Khuukhenkhuu Amartuvshin in the finals of the China Trials.


The event aired live at 3 a.m. ET on Youtube, Epicentre TV, AmebaTV (Japan), MBC Sports (South Korea), and CCTV 5 (China).

Soo Chul Kim def. Min Woo Kim by unanimous decision – for bantamweight title
Hyun Man Myung def. Chris Barnett by TKO (doctor’s stoppage). Round 1, 2:17
Tom Santos def. Yui Chul Nam by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 3:12 – International Trials qualifying bout
Munguntsooj Nandin-Erdene def. Bruno Miranda by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 0:55 – International Trials qualifying bout
Mansour Barnaoui def. Won Bin Ki by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 4:46 – International Trials qualifying bout
Dae Sung Kim def. Kuwabara Kiyoshi by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 2:33
Dae Young Jang def. Hyun Geun Park by split decision
Khuukhenkhuu Amartuvshin def. Lianru Shang by TKO (ground and pound). Round 1 – China Trails final
Won Hee Jung def. Jae Nam Yoo by TKO (punches). Round 1, 2:54
Kyung Yui Cho def. Jong Chan Choi by unanimous decision
Dong Guk Shin def. Byung Ha Lim by TKO (knee and punches). Round 1, 0:53
Yoon Jin Lee def. Sung Bin Hong by TKO (elbow injury). Round 1, 2:00