Riki Fukuda (Dave Mandel/Sherdog)

Road FC 36 Results: Fukuda Edges Kim, Torres Submits Tlauov

On Saturday, Feb. 11, ROAD Fighting Championship returned to the Jangchung Arena in Seoul, South Korea for Xiaomi presents ROAD FC 036.

In the main event of the evening, former ROAD FC middleweight champion Riki Fukuda took on Nae Chul Kim for an opportunity to fight current middleweight champion Jung Hwan Cha. Fukuda made his return to the cage after more than a year away following his loss to Cha at Road FC 028. The second-round knockout loss halted Fukuda’s four-fight winning streak following his departure from the UFC. Kim entered the title eliminator having won all six of his bouts under the ROAD FC banner.

The co-main event featured one of seven qualifying bouts in the $1 Million Lightweight Tournament “Road to A-Sol.” The seven winners will be seeded into the 16-man field which featured qualifying trials in China, Russia, Japan and Southeast Asia. The Korea and International Group A trials featured 14 fighters from eight different countries. The tournament field consisted of former UFC fighters Ronys Torres, Leo Kuntz and Albert Cheng, and promotional champions Shamil Zavurov, Rodrigo Caporal and Gleristone Santos. Kuntz missed weight by 150 grams and was deducted 50 percent of his purse and five points in the first round.


In the rest of the evening’s main card action, former Japanese pro-wrestler Yoshiko Hirano met South Korea’s Sun Yoo Cheon. Yoshiko is notorious for her brutal beating of Act Yasukawa in their World of Stardom championship match donned “The Ghastly Match.” Yoshiko took the scripted bout into her own hands when she turned the storyline around in a very real way. Yoshiko was suspended and stripped of her belt following the pro-wrestling match turned beatdown in the ring.

Lastly, former ROAD FC bantamweight title challenger Jae Hoon Moon made his flyweight debut against experienced Japanese grappler Taiyo Nakahara.

ROAD FC 036 aired live at 3:30 a.m. ET on Youtube, Facebook, Epicentre.tv (iPPV), CCTV5 (China), MBC Sports+ (South Korea), and AmebaTV (Japan).

Riki Fukuda def. Nae Chul Kim by unanimous decision
Shinji Sasaki def. Albert Cheng by unanimous decision – $1 Million tournament qualifier
Leo Kuntz def. Young Gi Hong by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 3 – $1 Million tournament qualifier
Dae Sung Park def. Rodrigo Caporal by split decision – $1 Million tournament qualifier
Yoshiko Hirano def. Sun Yoo Cheon by TKO (punches). Round 1
Shamil Zavurov def. Won Ki Kim by unanimous decision – $1 Million tournament qualifier
Taiyo Nakahara def. Jae Hoon Moon by unanimous decision
Gleristone Santos def. Hyung Seok Lee by unanimous decision – $1 Million tournament qualifier
Chang Hyun Kim def. Andy Main by unanimous decision – $1 Million tournament qualifier
Ronys Torres def. Ermek Tlauov by submission (guillotine choke). Round 1 – $1 Million tournament qualifier
Hae Jin Park def. Young Seung Cho by unanimous decision – $1 Million tournament reserve bout
Won Bin Ki def. Jae Il Jung by TKO (punches). Round 1 – $1 Million tournament reserve bout