Alistair Overeem (Jeff Sherwood/Sherdog)

UFC Fight Night 87 Results: Overeem Stops Arlovski, Struve Crushes Bigfoot

On Sunday, May 8,Ā the UFC hostedĀ UFC Fight Night 87: Overeem vs. ArlovskiĀ from the Ahoy Rotterdam in Rotterdam, Netherlands.

In the night’s main event,Ā former Strikeforce heavyweight champion Alistair Overeem took on former UFC titleholder Andrei Arlovski. The Dutchman Overeem entered the contest having won three straight, including a second-round TKO of another former champion, Junior dos Santos, in his last outing. Arlovski, meanwhile, saw a six-fight winning streak of his own come to an end in January, when he was stopped by Stipe Miocic in just 54 seconds.

More heavyweights were in action in the night’s co-main as former title challenger Antonio “Bigfoot” Silva clashed with another Dutch giant, Stefan Struve. Both fighters were in desperate need of win, as Silva had won just once in his last six outings, and Struve had dropped three of his last four.


The 13-fight event kicked off Sunday with three preliminary card bouts streaming live on UFC Fight Pass at 10:30 a.m. ET. Four additional preliminary card bouts aired on Fox Sports 1 at noon. ET, with the six-fight main card taking place at 2 p.m. ET, also on Fox Sports 1.

Alistair Overeem def. Andrei Arlovski by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 1:12
Stefan Struve def. Antonio “Bigfoot” Silva by TKO (elbows). Round 1, 0:15
Gunnar Nelson def. Albert Tumenov by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 3:15
Germaine de Randamie def. Anna Elmose by TKO (knees and punch). Round 1, 3:46
Nikita Krylov def. Francimar Barroso by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 3:11
Karolina Kowalkiewicz def. Heather Jo Clark by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
Rustam Khabilov def. Chris Wade by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
Magnus Cedenblad def. Garreth McLellan by TKO (kick and punches). Round 2, 0:47
Josh Emmett def. Jon Tuck by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Reza Madadi def. Yan Cabral by TKO (strikes). Round 3, 1:56
Kyoji Horiguchi def. Neil Seery by unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)
Leon Edwards def. Dominic Waters by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Ulka Sasaki def. Willie Gates by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 3:30