Donald Cerrone (Jeff Sherwood/Sherdog)

UFC Fight Night 83 Results: Cerrone Submits Oliveira, Brunson Pounds Out Carneiro

On Sunday, Feb. 21, the UFC hosted UFC Fight Night 83: Cerrone vs. Oliveira from the CONSOL Energy Center in Pittsburgh.

In the night’s main event, recent lightweight title challenger Donald “Cowboy” Cerrone moved up to the welterweight division to duel with another “Cowboy,” Alex Oliveira. Cerrone saw an eight-fight winning streak snapped in December when he was stopped by lightweight champion Rafael dos Anjos in just 66 seconds. Shortly after, Cerrone announced his move to the 170-pound ranks and was tabbed to face Tim Means. Means, however, was pulled from the card after a USADA violation and Oliveira was chosen as a replacement. The Brazilian was also be moving up in weight after winning three straight in the lightweight division. He was most recently in action in November, where he scored a third-round knockout of Piotr Hallman.

The 13-fight event kicked off Sunday with three preliminary card bouts streaming live on UFC Fight Pass at 5:30 p.m. ET. Four additional preliminary card bouts aired on Fox Sports 1 at 7 p.m. ET, with the six-fight main card taking place at 9 p.m. ET, also on Fox Sports 1.


Donald Cerrone def. Alex Oliveira by submission (triangle choke). Round 1, 2:33
Derek Brunson def. Roan Carneiro by TKO (punches). Round 1, 2:38
Cody Garbrandt def. Augusto “Tanquinho” Mendes by TKO (punches). Round 1, 4:18
Dennis Bermudez def. Tatsuya Kawajiri by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Chris Camozzi def. Joe Riggs by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 0:26
James Krause def. Shane Campbell by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Sean Strickland def. Alex Garcia by TKO (punches). Round 3, 4:25
Oluwale Bamgbose def. Daniel Sarafian by knockout (head kick and punches). Round 1, 1:00
Anthony Smith def. Leonardo Augusto Leleco by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Nathan Coy def. Jonavin Webb by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Ashlee Evans-Smith def. Marion Reneau by split decision (30-27, 28-29, 29-27)
Lauren Murphy def. Kelly Faszholz by TKO (strikes). Round 3, 4:55
Shamil Abdurakhimov def. Anthony Hamilton by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)