T.J. Dillashaw (Dave Mandel/Sherdog)

UFC on Fox 16 Results: Dillashaw Stops Barao Again to Retain Bantamweight Belt

On Saturday, July 25, the UFC hosted UFC on Fox 16: Dillashaw vs. Barao 2 from the United Center in Chicago.

In the night’s main event, a long-awaited bantamweight championship rematch finally took place as champion T.J. Dillashaw looked to prove his finish of former champion Renan Barao was no fluke. The 29-year-old Dillashaw stopped the Brazilian via fifth-round TKO at UFC 173 last spring. The pair were expected to headline UFC 177 last August, but Barao was forced out at the last minute. Dillashaw went on to defend his belt against Joe Soto, scoring another fifth-round finish. The rematch played out much the same as Dillashaw’s pace was again too much for Barao, leading to a fourth-round TKO stoppage for the champion.

The co-main event featured a pivotal match-up in the women’s bantamweight division as former Strikeforce titleholder and UFC title challenger Miesha Tate faced off with fellow¬†contender Jessica Eye. Tate bounced back from a submission loss to champion Ronda Rousey with three straight decision victories. Eye, meanwhile, scored a second-round TKO of Leslie Smith at UFC 180 in November. Tate started slow, but she rocked Eye with a massive right hand that turned the tide of the contest. Tate poured it on and earned a clear-cut decision win.


The 12-fight event kicked off Saturday with four preliminary card bouts streaming live on UFC Fight Pass at 4:15 p.m. ET. Four additional preliminary card bouts aired live on Fox at 6 p.m. ET, with the four-fight main card taking place at 8 p.m. ET, also on Fox.

T.J. Dillashaw def. Renan Barao by TKO (strikes). Round 4, 0:35 –¬†for bantamweight title
Miesha Tate def. Jessica Eye by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Edson Barboza def. Paul Felder by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Joe Lauzon def. Takanori Gomi by TKO (punches). Round 1, 2:37
Tom Lawlor def. Gian Villante by knockout (right hook). Round 2, 0:27
Jim Miller def. Danny Castillo by split decision (28-29, 29-28, 30-27)
Ben Saunders def. Kenny Robertson by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Bryan Caraway def. Eddie Wineland by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
James Krause def. Daron Cruickshank by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 1:27
Andrew Holbrook def. Ramsey Nijem by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Elizabeth Phillips def. Jessamyn Duke by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Zak Cummings def. Dominique Steele by TKO (punches). Round 1, 0:43