Boyd Allen (Ruby Wolff/EFC Worldwide)

EFC 36 Results: Allen Taps Groth to Retain Featherweight Title

On Thursday, Dec. 11, Extreme Fighting Championship (EFC) held its 36th event from the Coca-Cola Dome in Johannesburg, South Africa.

The event was headlined by a featherweight title fight, with champion Boyd Allen facing Wade Groth and defending his 145-pound strap for the first time.

Allen, who entered the fight undefeated in the EFC Hexagon, was riding an eight-fight winning-streak leading into his EFC 30 bout against Don Madge which saw the two fight to a split draw. On the back of that outing Allen squared off against Barend Neinbar at EFC 32 with the vacant featherweight title on the line. Allen defeated Neinbar by submission in the second round to claim the vacant belt.


Groth, who started his career with EFC at EFC 9, was riding a three-fight winning-streak. The 25-year-old, who was out of action for all of 2013, scored a second-round knockout of Alex Cheboub in May before topping Peter Nyide in August to earn his shot at EFC gold.

In the co-main event of the evening, fan favorite Dino Bagattin met Gordon Roodman. Bagattin was looking to begin his path back into title contention after his first-round loss at the hands of Henry Fadipe at EFC 29. Roodman was also looking to get back in the win column against his more experienced foe.

EFC 36 aired live on the promotion’s website via online pay-per-view for USD $24.99 with the prelims kicking off at 16:45 CAT.

Boyd Allen def. Wade Groth by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 2:21 – for featherweight title
Dino Bagattin def. Gordon Roodman by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 1:06
Nkazimulu Zulu def. Francois Groenewald by unanimous decision
Igeu Kabesa def. Barend Nienaber by unanimous decision
Marino Cutendana def. Oumpie Sebeko by submission (triangle choke). Round 1, 2:25
Warren Allison def. Gareth Sawyer by knockout (strikes). Round 2, 0:25
Michael Vermeulen def. Sors Grobbelaar by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 1:09
Cameron Meintjies def. Charl Hurter by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 3:07
Mthobisi Buthelezi def. Tshilomba Mulumba by split decision
Koba Iakobidze def. Kanyeba Anicet by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 1:44
Cameron Pritchard def.¬†Pietie Coxen by submission (D’arce choke). Round 1, 3:46
Alain Ilunga def. Conrad Seabi by submission (triangle choke). Round 2, 2:08