Rory MacDonald (Bellator MMA)

Bellator 222 Results: MacDonald Defends, Machida Crushes Sonnen, Horiguchi Tops Caldwell

On Friday, June 14, Bellator MMA hosted its 222nd event from Madison Square Garden in New York.

In the night’s main event, the promotion’s welterweight grand prix continued with a semifinal match-up between current champion Rory MacDonald and unbeaten submission ace Neiman Gracie.

The card also featured a bantamweight rematch between champion Darrion Caldwell and UFC and Rizin veteran Kyoji Horiguchi.


The action kicked off with the prelims at 6:30 p.m. ET. The main card streamed live on DAZN at 10 p.m. ET.

Rory MacDonald def. Neiman Gracie by unanimous decision (49-46, 48-47, 48-47) – for welterweight title
Lyoto Machida def. Chael Sonnen by TKO (punches). Round 2, 0:22
Dillon Danis def. Max Humphrey by submission (armbar). Round 1, 4:28
Patrick Mix def. Ricky Bandejas by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 1:06
Juan Archuleta def. Eduardo Dantas by knockout (punch). Round 2, 4:59
Kyoji Horiguchi def. Darrion Caldwell by unanimous decision (48-47, 49-46, 49-46)– for bantamweight title
Brandon Polcare def. Brandon Medina by submission (guillotine choke). Round 1, 4:33
Kastriot Xhema def. Whitney Francois by TKO (punches). Round 2, 3:17
John Beneduce def. Kenny Rivera by unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)
Taylor Turner def. Heather Hardy by TKO (punches). Round 1, 3:53
Adam Borics def. Aaron Pico by knockout (flying knee). Round 2, 3:55
Valerie Loureda def. Larkyn Dasch by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Lindsey VanZandt def. Rena Kubota by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 4:04
Haim Gozali def. Gustavo Wurlitzer by submission (triangle choke). Round 1, 4:02
Mike Kimbel def. Sebastian Ruiz by split decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Robson Gracie Jr. def. Oscar Vera by submission (armbar). Round 1, 3:15
Marcus Surin def. Nekruz Mirkhojaev by split decision (30-27, 27-29, 29-27)
Phil Hawes def. Michael Wilcox by TKO (doctor’s stoppage). Round 1, 5:00