Joe Warren (Dave Mandel/Sherdog)

Bellator 143 Results: Warren Too Much For Davis, Grove Stops Beltran

Justyn Likes Staff Writer

On Friday, Sept. 25, Bellator MMA hosted its 143rd event from the State Farm Arena in Hidalgo, Texas.

The main event featured a bantamweight clash between former two-division titleholder Joe Warren and hard-charging veteran L.C. Davis. Warren was looking to right the ship after losing his bantamweight title to Marcos Galvao at Bellator 135 in March. The submission loss snapped a five-fight winning streak for the wrestling stalwart. The WEC veteran Davis, meanwhile, earned his third straight win inside the Bellator cage at the same event with a decision win over Hideo Tokoro in a “Fight of the Year” candidate.

In the co-main event of the evening, a pair of former title challengers met in the middleweight division as UFC veterans Kendall Grove and Joey Beltran locked horns. Grove suffered a fourth-round TKO loss to Brandon Halsey in May to move his Bellator record to 2-2. Beltran bounced back from a title defeat to then-light heavyweight champion Emanuel Newton, with a contentious decision win over Brian Rogers in his middleweight debut.


The event kicked off Friday with a preliminary card stream on at 6:30 p.m. ET. The four-fight main card followed at 9 p.m ET on Spike.

Joe Warren def. L.C. Davis by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Kendall Grove def. Joey Beltran by TKO (punches). Round 3, 2:27
Emmanuel Sanchez def. Henry Corrales by split decision (27-30, 30-27, 29-28)
Vinicius Queiroz def. Ewerton Teixeira by submission (arm-triangle choke). Round 2, 4:00
Dan Charles def. Chase Gormley by knockout (punches). Round 2, 4:35
Darrion Caldwell def. Shawn Bunch by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 2:35
John Teixeria def. Gleristone Santos by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Luke Flores def. Gilbert Jimenez by knockout (head kick). Round 1, 2:22
Jared Chaffee def. Guilherme Costa by submission (guillotine choke). Round 1, 0:39
Abdul Razak Al-Hassan def. Bryce Shepard-Mejia by knockout (punch). Round 1, 1:26
Amador Ramirez def. Saul Elizondo by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Steve Garcia def Eduardo Bustillos by TKO (punches). Round 1, 4:59