RFA 20: Sanders vs. Mercado Weigh-in Results

On Thursday, Nov. 6, Resurrection Fighting Alliance hosted the weigh-ins for its 20th event. The promotion will once again visit the 1STBANK Center in Broomfield, Colo., on Friday, Nov. 7. The night’s main card airs live on AXS TV beginning at 10 p.m. ET.

In the night’s main event, the promotion may crown a new bantamweight champion as unbeaten Luke Sanders takes on Jarred Mercado. Only Sanders is eligible for the belt, as Mercado came in four pounds overweight for the bout. Sanders enters the contest with a perfect, 8-0 record. The 28-year-old XFC veteran has picked up wins over Dan Moret and Darrick Minner inside the RFA cage. The Colorado-based Mercado has tasted defeat just once in his 13-fight career. A former Northwestern wrestler, Mercado earned a decision win over Daniel Swain at RFA 16 in July.

The co-main event of the evening will feature a pair of battle-tested welterweights as Colorado’s Josh Cavan takes on Benjamin Smith. Cavan saw his four-fight winning streak end in July in a hard-fought war with current UFC fighter Chris Heatherly. Smith is a product of Xtreme Couture. The 34-year-old has reeled off four straight leading into the contest, but will be looking for his first win under the RFA banner.


Also on the main card is a welterweight clash between UFC and TUF veteran Gilbert “Jamal” Smith and Serbian submission artist Bojan Velickovic, a light heavyweight bout between Cody Mumma and Colton Vaughn, a bantamweight match-up between Boston Salmon and James DeHerrera, and a featherweight contest between UFC veteran Alvin “Kid” Robinson and Fabio Serrao.

Below are the results of the event’s weigh-ins.

RFA 20 Weigh-in Results
Luke Sanders (134.6) vs. Jarred Mercado (139.8)* – for vacant bantamweight title (Sanders only)
Josh Cavan (170.4) vs. Benjamin Smith (170.6)
Gilbert “Jamal” Smith (170.6) vs. Bojan Velickovic (170)
Cody Mumma (205.4) vs. Colton Vaughn (205)
Alvin “Kid” Robinson (145.8) vs. Fabio Serrao (144.8)
Boston Salmon (135.8) vs. James DeHerrera (135)
Stephanie Skinner (105.4) vs. Kyra Batara (105.8)
Chris Mierzwiak (170) vs. Joe Miles (169)
Joe Guerrero (125.2) vs.Nicholas Clem (127) (a)

(a) – denotes amateur contest

* – Mercado was fined 20 percent of his purse and is no longer eligible to win the title