Khabib Nurmagomedov (Dave Mandel/Sherdog)

UFC 242 Results: Nurmagomedov Submits Poirier, Retains Lightweight Belt

On Saturday, Sept. 7, the Octagon returned to Abu Dhabi for UFC 242: Khabib vs. Poirier. The event takes place from The Arena on Yas Island.

In the night’s main event, undefeated lightweight champion Khabib Nurmagomedov and interim champion Dustin Poirier unified the 155-pound crown. Dagestan’s Nurmagomedov had not competed since last October due to a suspension for his role in the UFC 229 post-fight brawl with Conor McGregor. Louisiana’s Poirier had not tasted defeat in six straight, including his five-round decision victory over current featherweight king Max Holloway to earn interim gold.

The 13-fight event kicked off with four bouts streaming live on ESPN+ at 10 a.m. ET. Four additional preliminary-card fights followed on FX at noon ET, with the five-fight main card streaming live on ESPN+ pay-per-view at 2 p.m. ET.


Khabib Nurmagomedov def. Dustin Poirier by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 3, 2:06 – for lightweight title
Paul Felder def. Edson Barboza by split decision (27-30, 29-28, 30-27)
Islam Makhachev def. Davi Ramos by unanimous decision (29-27, 30-26, 30-26)
Curtis Blaydes def. Shamil Abdurakhimov by TKO (elbow and punches). Round 2, 2:22
Carlos Diego Ferreira def. Mairbek Taisumov by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-27, 29-27)
Joanne Calderwood def. Andrea Lee by split decision (28-29, 30-27, 29-28)
Zubaira Tukhugov vs. Lerone Murphy ends in split draw (28-29, 29-28, 28-28)
Sarah Moras def. Liana Jojua by TKO (punches and elbows). Round 3, 2:26
Ottman Azaitar def. Teemu Packalen by knockout (punch). Round 1, 3:33
Belal Muhammad def. Takashi Sato by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 3, 1:55
Muslim Salikhov def. Nordine Taleb by TKO (punch). Round 1, 4:26
Omari Akhmedov def. Zak Cummings by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Don Madge def. Fares Ziam by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)