Karina Rodriguez (Jeff Vulgamore/Combat Press)

Invicta FC 35 Results: Rodríguez Edges Bennett, Pereira Tops Zappitella

On Friday, June 7, Invicta Fighting Championships hosted its 35th event from Memorial Hall in Kansas City, Kan.

In the night’s main event, the promotion determined a No. 1 contender in the flyweight division as UFC veteran DeAnna Bennett rematched Mexico’s Karina Rodríguez in the contender tournament final. The pair met previously at Invicta FC 28 with Bennett claiming a decision victory. Both fighters were in action during the semifinals at Invicta FC 34 in February. Bennett topped Miranda Maverick, while Rodríguez bested Milana Dudieva.

The card also featured undefeated atomweight Alesha Zappitella taking on UFC veteran Viviane Pereira, as well as the promotional debut of Japanese wrestler Kanako Murata, who clashed with Brazilian Liana Pirosin.


The card streamed live on UFC Fight Pass beginning at 8 p.m. ET.

Karina Rodriguez def. DeAnna Bennett by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28) – flyweight tournament final
Viviane Pereira def. Alesha Zappitella by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)
Kanako Murata def. Liana Pirosin by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 2:10
Lisa Spangler def. Katharina Lehner by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Kaitlin Young def. Faith McMah by TKO (strikes). Round 3, 3:52
Chelsea Chandler def. Brittney Victoria by TKO (strikes). Round 2, 3:58
Kelly D’Angelo def. Jillian DeCoursey by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Loma Lookboonmee def. Monique Adriane by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Genia Goodin def. Valerie Wong by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)