Alex Pereira (James Law/GLORY)

GLORY 58 Results: Pereira Too Much for Marcus, Retains Middleweight Belt

On Friday, Sept. 14, GLORY Kickboxing returned to the Windy City, visiting the Sears Centre Arena in Hoffman Estates, Ill.

In the night’s main event, middleweight champion Alex Pereira rematched the man he defeated to capture the belt, Simon Marcus. The pair met previously at GLORY 46 in Guangzhou, China. After five rounds, it was the Brazilian Pereira who took home a unanimous decision victory and the belt. Pereira was riding high after back-to-back title defenses against Yousri Belgaroui, the latter of which came via highlight-reel, first-round knockout. Marcus rebounded from his title defeat, demolishing Zack Wells at GLORY 52 and besting former champion Jason Wilnis at GLORY 56 in Denver to earn another shot at gold.

The GLORY 58 main card also featured a heavyweight clash between multiple-time title challenger Benjamin Adegbuyi and veteran Jahfarr Wilnis.


The SuperFight Series portion of the event was highlighted by another heavyweight tilt, as Junior Tafa meets Haze Wilson. A four-man welterweight tournament also took place on the UFC Fight Pass-broadcast card.

GLORY 58 kicked off with a preliminary card streaming live on the promotion’s YouTube channel, Facebook page and Pluto TV 215 at 6:45 p.m. ET. The SuperFight Series streamed live on UFC Fight Pass at 8:30 p.m. ET. The main card, including the Pereira-Marcus title match-up, aired live at 10:30 p.m. ET on ESPN3.

Alex Pereira def. Simon Marcus by unanimous decision (48-46, 48-46, 49-45, 49-45, 50-44) – for middleweight title
Benjamin Adegbuyi def. Jahfarr Wilnis by unanimous decision (29-26 x5)
Omari Boyd def. Richard Abraham by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Anvar Boynazarov def. Bailey Sugden by split decision (30-27, 27-30, 29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Troy Jones wins the welterweight tournament final after Mike Lemaire was unable to fight
Junior Tafa def. Haze Wilson by TKO (referee stoppage). Round 1, 1:35
Matt Baker def. Thomas Jenkins by knockout (punch). Round 3, 1:55
Troy Jones def. Casey Greene by knockout (head kick). Round 1, 1:00 – welterweight tournament semifinal
Mike Lemaire def. Omar Moreno by unanimous decision (29-27, 29-27, 29-27, 30-26, 30-26) – welterweight tournament semifinal
Houssam El Kasri def. Kou Lee by TKO (knee). Round 3, 2:36
Justin Moss def. Paul Banasiak by split decision (28-27, 27-28, 28-27, 28-27, 28-27)
Nick Chasteen def. John Morehouse by unanimous decision (30-27 x5)
Lorawnt-t Nelson def. Trevor Ragin by unanimous decision (30-27 x5)