Tony Ferguson (Mike Sloan/Sherdog)

UFC 216 Results: Ferguson Chokes Lee, Johnson Dominates Borg

On Saturday, Oct. 7, the UFC hosted UFC 216: Ferguson vs. Lee from the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas

In the night’s main event, an interim lightweight champion was crowned as The Ultimate Fighter winner Tony Ferguson took on Kevin Lee. Ferguson, who had yet to compete in 2017, rode a lengthy, nine-fight winning streak into the title affair. He most recently defeated former titleholder Rafael dos Anjos. The 25-year-old Lee, meanwhile, also rode a wave of momentum into the night’s headliner. He most recently submitted Michael Chiesa in June to extend his winning streak to five.

Gold was also on the line in the co-main event as long-reigning flyweight kingpin Demetrious Johnson faced Ray Borg. The pair were scheduled to met at UFC 215, but Borg was forced out of the bout due to illness during fight week. Johnson looked to break Anderson Silva’s record for most consecutive title defenses with a victory.


The 11-fight event kicked off Saturday at 7 p.m. ET with two fights streaming on UFC Fight Pass. Four additional preliminary card bouts follow at 8 p.m. ET on FX, with the five-fight main card airing live on pay-per-view at 10 p.m. ET.

Tony Ferguson def. Kevin Lee by submission (triangle choke). Round 3, 4:02 – for interim lightweight title
Demetrious Johnson def. Ray Borg by submission (armbar). Round 5, 3:15 – for flyweight title
Fabricio Werdum def. Walt Harris by submission (armbar). Round 1, 1:05
Mara Romero Borella def. Kalindra Faria by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 2:54
Beneil Dariush vs. Evan Dunham ruled a majority draw (29-28, 28-28, 28-28)
Cody Stamann def. Tom Duquesnoy by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)
Lando Vannata vs. Bobby Green ruled a split draw (29-27, 27-29, 28-28)
Poliana Botelho def. Pearl Gonzalez by unanimous decision (30-27 x 3)
Matt Schnell def. Marco Beltran by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 30-27)
John Moraga def. Magomed Bibulatov by knockout (punch). Round 1, 1:38
Brad Tavares def. Thales Leites by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-26, 30-26)