Rico Verhoeven (James Law/GLORY)

GLORY 41 Holland Results: Verhoeven Outclasses Lazaar, van Roosmalen Regains Featherweight Title

GLORY Kickboxing traveled to the Brabanthallen Exhibition Centre in Den Bosch on Saturday, May 20, for GLORY 41: Holland.

In the evening’s headliner, GLORY heavyweight champion Rico Verhoeven returned to the ring in a five round, non-title match-up against former Enfusion heavyweight champion Ismael Lazaar. Verhoeven, the world’s consensus No. 1 heavyweight, was undefeated in his past 12 contests inside the GLORY ring. Lazaar made his promotional debut following a decision win over Kunlun Fight veteran Atha Kasapis at Enfusion Live 47 in March.

The featherweight title on is on the line when former two-division GLORY world champion Robin van Roosmalen regained the belt he lost on the scales at GLORY 37 when he took on GLORY 39 contender tournament winner Petchpanomrung Kiatmookao.


In the night’s heavyweight contender tournament, former top-10 heavyweight Anderson “Braddock” Silva couldn’t earn a rematch against Verhoeven with two victories in the one-night, four-man battle. Brazil’s Silva met the debuting Greek heavyweight Giannis Stoforidis in one leg of the tournament semifinals. In the other side of the bracket, multiple-time Superkombat tournament champion D’Angelo Marshall fought Germany’s Mohamed Abdallah. Marshall knocked off Silva in the final.

Elsewhere on the event, top-five welterweight Murthel Groenhart topped Argentina’s Alan Scheinson. GLORY mainstay Hesdy Gerges took on the returning top heavyweight Tomáš Hron, who had won 22 of his past 25 fights. Top-five light heavyweight Mourad Bouzidi fought the winning half of the 2016 Combat Press ‘Comeback of the Year’ – former top-10 kickboxer Michael Duut. Lastly, Shootboxing S-Cup champion Zakaria Zouggary impressed in his GLORY debut against Turkey’s Yetkin Ozkul

GLORY 41 aired at 1 p.m. ET on ESPN 3. The SuperFight Series portion of the event streamed live at 3:30 p.m. ET on UFC Fight Pass.

Rico Verhoeven def. Ismael Lazaar by unanimous decision (50-45, 50-45, 50-45, 50-45, 49-46)
Robin van Roosmalen def. Petchpanomrung Kiatmookao by majority decision (50-44, 48-46, 47-47, 49-45, 49-45) – for featherweight title
Murthel Groenhart def. Alan Scheinson by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Mourad Bouzidi def. Michael Duut by disqualification (three point deductions). Round 2, 2:18
Tyjani Beztati def. Youssef Assouik by unanimous decision (30-26×5)
Zakaria Zouggary def. Yetkin Ozkul by unanimous decision (30-27×5)
D’Angelo Marshall def. Anderson Silva by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27, 29-28) – heavyweight tournament final
Hesdy Gerges def. Tomáš Hron by unanimous decision (30-24×5)
Chenglong Zhang def. Wilson Sanches-Mendes by unanimous decision (30-25, 30-25, 30-25, 29-26, 29-26)
D’Angelo Marshall def. Mohamed Abdallah by knockout (two knockdowns). Round 1, 0:48 – heavyweight tournament semifinal
Anderson Silva def. Giannis Stoforidis by TKO (punches). Round 2, 2:26 – heavyweight tournament semifinal