On Saturday, June 18, the UFC hosted UFC Fight Night 89: MacDonald vs. Thompson from the The Arena at TD Place in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

In the night’s main event, former welterweight title challenger Rory MacDonald looked to earn another crack at the belt as he took on the red-hot Stephen Thompson. MacDonald had not competed since his Fight of the Year battle with champion Robbie Lawler at UFC 189 last July. The Canadian was likely up on the scorecards heading to the fifth and final round, but Lawler stopped him with punches to retain the belt. Thompson, meanwhile, was also looking for a title shot, having crushed former champ Johny Hendricks and Jake Ellenberger in back-to-back outings. The 33-year-old rode a six-fight winning streak into the headlining affair.

The co-main event featured a pair of veterans as former lightweight Donald Cerrone met former middleweight Patrick Cote in a welterweight contest. Cerrone bounced back from a title defeat to champion Rafael dos Anjos with a first-round, triangle choke finish of Alex Oliveira in February. The Canadian Cote had reeled off three straight wins since falling to the aforementioned Thompson in late 2014.

The 13-fight event kicked off Saturday with four preliminary card bouts streaming live on UFC Fight Pass at 6:45 p.m. ET. Four additional preliminary card bouts aired on Fox Sports 2 at 8:30 p.m. ET, with the five-fight main card taking place at 10:30 p.m. ET on Fox Sports 1.

Stephen Thompson def. Rory MacDonald by unanimous decision (50-45, 50-45, 48-47)
Donald Cerrone def. Patrick Cote by TKO (punches). Round 3, 2:35
Steve Bosse def. Sean O’Connell by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-27)
Olivier Aubin-Mercier def. Thibault Gouti by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 3, 2:28
Joanne Calderwood def. Valerie Letourneau by TKO (body kick and punches). Round 3, 2:51
Jason Saggo def. Leandro Silva by split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)
Misha Cirkunov def. Ion Cutelaba by submission (arm-triangle choke). Round 3, 1:22
Krzysztof Jotko def. Tamdan McCrory by knockout (punch). Round 1, 0:59
Joe Soto def. Chris Beal by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 3, 3:39
Elias Theodorou def. Sam Alvey by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Randa Markos def. Jocelyn Jones-Lybarger by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
Colby Covington def. Jonathan Meunier by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 3, 0:54
Ali Bagautinov def. Geane Herrera by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)

About The Author

Bryan Henderson

Bryan Henderson became a fan of MMA in the late '90s when he happened upon the early UFC events on VHS at a local video rental store. He started writing about the sport on his Sporting News member blog in 2007 before becoming an official staff writer for Sporting News' "The Rumble" MMA/boxing blog. He went on to become a staff writer and the Features Manager for MMA DieHards before moving on to The MMA Corner, where he assumed the role of Editor-in-Chief. Bryan left The MMA Corner in 2014 and founded Combat Press along with two of his colleagues. In addition to covering mixed martial arts, Bryan also operated the Modified Mind body modification e-zine website for more than a decade.

Related Posts