Max Holloway (Dave Mandel/Sherdog)

UFC Fight Night 74 Results: Holloway Claims TKO Win After Oliveira Suffers Injury

On Sunday, Aug. 23, the UFC hosted UFC Fight Night 74: Holloway vs. Oliveira from the SaskTel Centre in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada.

In the night’s main event, a pair of young and talented featherweights locked horns as Hawaii’s Max Holloway took on Brazil’s Charles Oliveira. The 23-year-old Holloway had reeled off six straight wins leading into the headlining affair, including five finishes. He was most recently in action in April, where he submitted Cub Swanson at UFC on Fox 15. Oliveira, meanwhile, rode a similar wave of momentum, having won four in a row. Three of those wins came via submission, including a third-round guillotine finish of Nik Lentz in May.

The co-main event featured a welterweight contest between Colorado’s Neil Magny and Brazil’s Erick Silva. Magny saw a seven-fight winning streak snapped just three weeks ago against Demian Maia. He looked to rebound as a late-replacement for Rick Story. For the first time in Silva’s 10-fight UFC tenure, he entered a fight having won back-to-back outings.


The 12-fight event kicked off Sunday with two preliminary card bouts streaming live on UFC Fight Pass at 6 p.m. ET. Four additional preliminary card bouts aired live on Fox Sports 1 at 7 p.m. ET, with the six-fight main card taking place at 9 p.m. ET, also on Fox Sports 1.

Max Holloway def. Charles Oliveira by TKO (injury). Round 1, 1:39
Neil Magny def. Erick Silva by split decision (28-29, 29-28, 30-27)
Patrick Cote def. Josh Burkman by TKO (punches). Round 3, 1:26
Francisco Trinaldo def. Chad Laprise by TKO (punches). Round 1, 2:43
Olivier Aubin-Mercier def. Tony Sims by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Valerie Letourneau def. Maryna Moroz by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
Frankie Perez def. Sam Stout by TKO (punches). Round 1, 0:54
Felipe Arantes def. Yves Jabouin by submission (armbar). Round 1, 4:21
Nikita Krylov def. Marcos Rogerio de Lima by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 2:29
Chris Kelades def. Chris Beal by split decision (27-30, 29-28, 29-28)
Shane Campbell def. Elias Silverio by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Misha Cirkunov def. Daniel Jolly by knockout (punches). Round 1, 4:45