KANA (K-1 World GP)

K-1 World GP 2019 Japan Results: Anpo Edges Kaew for Super Lightweight Belt; KANA Claims Tournament

On Saturday, Dec. 28, the K-1 group hosted K-1 World GP 2019 Japan from Nagoya, Japan.

The event featured an exhibition bout between two of promotion’s biggest stars, featherweight champion Yuki Egawa and the world’s top-ranked kickboxer Takeru. Egawa earned gold last month, stopping all three of his tournament foes to move his winning streak to seven. Takeru, meanwhile, extended his winning streak to 33 following a close decision victory over former K-1 featherweight titleholder Yuta Murakoshi at the same event.

In the co-main event, Rukiya Anpo and Kaew Weerasakreck battled for the super lightweight title.


Elsewhere on the card, the promotion featured a four-woman flyweight tournament that showcased KANA, Cristina Morales, Josefine Knutsson and Mellony Geugjes.

The event aired live on Abema TV (Japan) beginning at 11:30 p.m ET.

Exhibition: Takeru vs. Yuki Egawa
Rukiya Anpo def. Kaew Weerasakreck by extension round unanimous decision (10-9 x3) – for super lightweight title
Kana Morimoto def. Josefine Knutsson by extension round split decision (10-9, 9-10, 10-9) – flyweight tournament final
Yoshiki Takei def. Suriyanlek OBT.Kamphee by unanimous decision (30-25, 30-24, 30-25)
Minoru Kimura def. Marcel Adeyemi by knockout. Round 1, 1:18
Masaaki Noiri def. Hasan Toy by majority decision (29-29, 30-29, 30-29)
Tatsuya Oiwa def. Stavros Exakoustidis by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-29, 29-28)
Fukashi Mizutani def. Tetsuya Yamato by knockout. Round 3, 0:34
Hisaki Kato def. K-Jee by knockout. Round 2, 1:17
Kota Nakano def. Jin Hirayama by knockout. Round 3, 0:26
Kaito def. Ho Sung Kim by knockout. Round 1, 2:21
Josefine Knutsson def. Mellony Geugjes by unanimous decision (30-28, 30-28, 30-29) – flyweight tournament semifinal
Kana Morimoto def. Cristina Morales by unanimous decision (29-27, 30-27, 29-27) – flyweight tournament semifinal
Kotomi def. Mahiro Masahiro by unanimous decision (30-29, 30-28, 30-29) – flyweight tournament reserve bout
Hinata Matsumoto def. Mao Hashimoto by extension round unanimous decision (10-9 x3)
Shodai Matsuoka def. Taito by knockout. Round 1, 1:25
Takahito Niimi def. Naoki Takahashi by unanimous decision (30-25, 30-26, 30-26)
Masafumi Kurasaki def. Hideki by unanimous decision (30-28 x3)
Kazuki Sagegami def. Yuto Saito by knockout. Round 2, 2:02
Koji Ikeda def. Yuki Toyota by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-28)