Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong (Lucas Johnson/Combat Press)

GLORY 61 Results: Sitthichai Dominates Jauncey, Meksen Destroys Menezes

On Friday, Nov. 2, GLORY Kickboxing held its 61st event from the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York.

In the night’s headliner, the world’s best kickboxer, Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong, put his lightweight title on the line against a familiar foe, Canadian Josh Jauncey. The pair met previously in 2015 at GLORY 22 in Lille, France. Thailand’s Sitthichai was making his promotional debut that night and defeated Jauncey on the scorecards. Since then, Sitthichai has gone 22-2 over the last three years. Jauncey would go on to face a gauntlet of the division’s elite with mixed results. The 25-year-old righted the ship recently, scoring massive wins over Stoyan Koprivienski and Christian Baya in last two appearances to earn a crack at gold.

Gold was also on the line in the night’s co-main event as Jady Menezes put her belt on the line against the world’s best female kickboxer, Anissa Meksen. The pair met previously at GLORY 56 in Denver, with Brazil’s Menezes leaving the ring with one of the most controversial decisions in GLORY history, as well as the belt. Meksen was out for revenge after the unexpected outcome in the pair’s last meeting.


GLORY 61 kicked off with the preliminary card streaming live on the promotion’s YouTube channel, Facebook page and Pluto TV 215 at 6 p.m. ET. The SuperFight Series streamed live on UFC Fight Pass at 7:30 p.m. ET. The main card aired live at 9:30 p.m. ET on ESPN.

Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong def. Josh Jauncey by unanimous decision (49-45, 49-45, 50-44) – for lightweight title
Anissa Meksen def. Jady Menezes by TKO (punches). Round 2, 0:39 – for women’s super bantamweight title
Chris Camozzi def. Myron Dennis by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Omari Boyd def. Alan Scheinson by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Kevin VanNostrand def. Massaro Glunder by unanimous decision (28-27 x3)
Asa Ten Pow def. Niko Tsigaras by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Charles Rodriguez def. Malik Watson-Smith by technical decision (20-18 x3)
Justin Houghton def. Vince McGuinness by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27
Chommanee Sor Taehiran def. Ashley Nichols by split decision (29-28, 27-30, 29-28)
Nate Richardson def. Justin Greskiewicz by TKO (three-knockdown rule). Round 1, 2:33
Abraham Vidales def. Houssam El Kasri by TKO (left hook). Round 1, 1:48
Jonathan Di Bella def. Mohamed Lemjerdine by unanimous decision (30-25 x3)
Harry Germain def. Iskander Usmonov by TKO (punches). Round 1, 0:40