Ryan Bader (Dave Mandel/Sherdog)

Bellator 199 Results: Bader Stops King Mo Early, Fitch Grinds Out Victory Over Daley

Bellator is almost to the magic number 200 as it traveled to the SAP Center in San Jose, Calif., for the next fight in the Bellator Heavyweight Grand Prix and Bellator 199.

The grand prix served as the main event of the night. Muhammad “King Mo” Lawal took on the reigning Bellator light heavyweight champion, Ryan Bader. Lawal, normally a light heavyweight, had recently been fighting at the heavyweight level, where he had gone 2-1 over his three recent bouts. Both of those victories came in the Bellator cage, where he met Quinton “Rampage” Jackson and Satoshi Ishii. Bader came into this fight after winning his last four fights, including two in the UFC.

The co-headliner could have possibly produced a title challenger in the welterweight division. UFC veteran Jon Fitch returned to the cage for the first time since last June to make his Bellator debut. He took on knockout artist Paul Daley, who was 3-2 over his last five outings and won his last fight against another UFC veteran, Lorenz Larkin, by knockout.


There was also another heavyweight fight on the main card, but it was not a part of the grand-prix bracket. UFC veteran Cheick Kongo took on Javy Ayala in that affair.

Bellator also showcases two prospects. Aaron Pico knocked out Lee Morrison at featherweight, while Carrington Banks met Adam Piccolotti at lightweight.

The Bellator 199 preliminary card aired live on Bellator.com at 7 p.m. ET. The main card aired live on the Paramount Network at 9 p.m. ET.

Ryan Bader def. Muhammad “King Mo” Lawal by knockout (strikes). Round 1, 0:15. – heavyweight grand prix opening round
Jon Fitch def. Paul Daley by unanimous decision (29-27, 29-26, 29-26)
Aaron Pico def. Lee Morrison by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 1:10
Cheick Kongo def. Javy Ayala by knockout (punch). Round 1, 2:29
Adam Piccolotti def. Carrington Banks by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 3, 4:41
Deron Winn def. Ahmed White by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 2:32
Justin Tenedora def. David Rivera-Cruz by submission (triangle choke). Round 1, 4:27
Gaston Bolanos def. Malcolm Hill by TKO (leg kicks). Round 1, 2:54
James Terry def. Danasabe Mohammed by unanimous decision (30-26 x 3)
Amber Leibrock def. Janay Harding by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-26, 30-26)
Jordan Williams def. Brandon Hester by TKO (strikes) Round 2, 1:11