Harut Grigorian (James Law/GLORY)

GLORY 50 Results: Grigorian Stuns Groenhart, Sitthichai Cruises, Adegbuyi Claims Tournament

On Friday, Feb. 16, GLORY Kickboxing returned to the Windy City for its 50th event. The event took place from the UIC Pavillion located on the University of Illinois at Chicago campus.

In the night’s main event, welterweight champion Murthel Groenhart looked to make the first defense of his title against a familiar foe, Harut Grigorian. The pair had met twice previously, with Groenhart scoring second-round knockouts in both contests. However, the pair’s meeting at GLORY 42 was filled with controversy after a dazed Grigorian turned his back to Groenhart along the ropes and the Dutchman violently sent Grigorian to the canvas. The ensuing melee included fans entering the ring and assaulting Groenhart before order could be restored. Both fighters picked up wins at GLORY 44 – also in Chicago – to set up the title contest.

Also on the main card, the promotion hosted a one-night, four-man heavyweight tournament. Former title challenger Benjamin Adegbuyi took on D’Angelo Marshall in one side of the ladder, while Brazilian Guto Inocente met Junior Tafa in the other half of the bracket.


The night’s SuperFight Series card was headlined by a lightweight title tilt featuring the sport’s No. 1-ranked pound-for-pound fighter, Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong, who defended his belt against tournament winner Christian Baya.

The GLORY 50 SuperFight Series aired live at 8:30 p.m. ET on UFC Fight Pass. The main card streamed live at 11 p.m. ET on ESPN3, with the replay airing on ESPN2 on Sunday, Feb. 18 at 10 p.m. ET.

Harut Grigorian def. Murthel Groenhart by TKO (referee stoppage). Round 1, 2:06 – for welterweight title
Benjamin Adegbuyi def. Junior Tafa by TKO (leg kicks). Round 2, 0:34 – heavyweight tournament final (Inocente declared medically unfit due to a cut)
Richard Abraham def. Malik Watson-Smith by unanimous decision (30-25, 29-26, 29-26, 29-26, 29-26)
Benjamin Adegbuyi def. D’Angelo Marshall by knockout (punch). Round 1, 0:30 – heavyweight tournament semifinal
Guto Inocente def. Junior Tafa by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28, 29-28, 29-28) – heavyweight tournament semifinal
Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong def. Christian Baya by unanimous decision (49-46, 50-45, 50-45, 50-45, 50-45) – for lightweight title
Haze Wilson vs. Anthony McDonald cancelled due to health concerns (McDonald had high blood pressure)
Omar Moreno def. Casey Greene by unanimous decision in the extra round (10-9 x5)
Omari Boyd def. Daniel Morales by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
Diego Llamas def. Justin Houghton by TKO (punches). Round 1, 1:40