Anthony Smith (Jade Kimmel/Combat Press)

VFC 47 Results: Smith Destroys Neer, Mercado Chokes Out Martinez

On Friday, Jan. 29, Victory Fighting Championship hosted its 47th event from the¬†Baxter Arena in¬†Omaha, Neb. The event marked the promotion’s debut on UFC Fight Pass.

In the night’s main event,¬†the promotion’s middleweight belt was on the line between UFC veterans Anthony Smith and Josh Neer. The pair met previously at VFC 41 in 2013 with Neer securing a third-round finish via rear-naked choke. Since then, Smith rebounded with six straight wins while competing for Bellator MMA, CFFC and the RFA. Neer, meanwhile, had suffered back-to-back decision losses in the Bellator cage, but prior to that, the 32-year-old had reeled off three straight wins.

The co-main event also featured a title on the line as Jarred Mercado and Alonzo Martinez clashed for the featherweight strap.


VFC 47 kicked off at 10 p.m. ET live on UFC Fight Pass. Above are video highlights from the event (courtesy of Victory FC).

Anthony Smith def. Josh Neer by TKO (strikes). Round 1, 3:27- for vacant middleweight title
Jarred Mercado def. Alonzo Martinez by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 2:15 Рfor vacant featherweight title
Dakota Cochrane def. Jake Lindsey by submission (guillotine choke). Round 3, 3:43
Cody Carrillo def. Sean Wilson by submission (guillotine choke). Round 1, 0:32
Yuri Villefort def. Kenneth Glenn by knockout (flying knee). Round 1, 4:15
Grant Dawson def. Bryce Logan by TKO (punches). Round 2, 3:12
Raufeon Stots def. Demetrius Wilson by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 3, 4:35
Nate Flanders def. Seth Bass by submission (injury). Round 1, 3:09
Troy Nawrocki def. Rex Littell by knockout (head kick). Round 2, 1:35 (a)
Ivey Nixon def. Virgil Knight by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 2, 1:15 (a)
Sam Vice def. Delfino Benitez by unanimous decision (29-28 x3) (a)
Josh Ihnen def. Issac Doolittle by unanimous decision (29-28 x3) (a)
Carlos Trinidad def. Ben Wallingford by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27) (a)
Ryan Beckett def. Tanner Leichleiter by knockout (punch). Round 1, 0:57 (a)

(a) – denotes amateur contest