Michael Bisping (Esther Lin/MMA Fighting)

UFC Fight Night 48 Results: Bisping Batters Le, Woodley Stuns Kim

On Saturday, Aug. 23, the UFC hosted UFC Fight Night 48: Bisping vs. Le from the Venetian Macao’s CotaiArena in Macau, China.

The night’s main event featured a middleweight collision between Ultimate Fighter season three winner Michael Bisping and former Strikeforce champion Cung Le. Bisping entered the contest on the heels of a unanimous decision loss to Tim Kennedy in April. The 35-year-old Brit was just 2-3 over his last five fights. Across the cage, Le was riding a two-fight winning streak since transitioning from Strikeforce. The 42-year-old fighter had been out of action since knocking out Rich Franklin in November of 2012.

In the co-main event, welterweights Tyron Woodley and Dong Hyun Kim looked to state their case for title consideration at 170 pounds. The former Strikeforce title challenger Woodley had gone 3-2 in his five UFC appearances and was eyeing a return to the win column after dropping a decision to Rory MacDonald at UFC 174. Kim, meanwhile, rode a four-fight winning streak, including back-to-back knockout wins over John Hathaway and Erick Silva.


The 10-fight card kicked off Saturday at 6:30 a.m. ET with six fights streaming live on UFC Fight Pass. The four-fight main card began at 9 a.m. ET, also on UFC Fight Pass.

Michael Bisping def. Cung Le by TKO (strikes). Round 4, 0:57
Tyron Woodley def. Dong Hyun Kim by TKO (punches). Round 1, 1:01
Zhang Lipeng def. Brendan O’Reilly by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Ning Guangyou def. Jianping Yang by unanimous decision (29-28 x3) – TUF China featherweight final
Wang Sai def. Danny Mitchell by unanimous decision (29-28 x 3)
Alberto Mina def. Shinsho Anzai by TKO (punches). Round 1, 4:17
Yuta Sasaki def. Roland Delorme by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 1:06
Colby Covington def. Wang Anying by submission (strikes). Round 1, 4:50
Royston Wee def. Yao Zhikui by split decision (29-28, 27-30, 29-28)
Milana Dudieva def. Elizabeth Phillips by split decision (30-27, 28-29, 29-28)